Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I grilled a 4-lb pork roast & was looking for something to do with the leftovers, when I saw this. I roasted the bell & all of the other peppers & the tomatillos & pureed them with the cilantro before adding to the pot. I also added roasted tomatoes. It got rave reviews in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious. I started out trying to duplicate the "smothered" sauce from our favorite smothered burrito place. This isn't it, but it is delicious! (I think more green chile and less tomatillo would do it.) A perfect New Mexicoan chile verde. (Oh how I miss the food in Albuquerque.) I followed the recipe almost exactly. My market only had 3 poblanos and I couldn't get my mind around bell peppers, so I ended up using the 3 poblanos plus about 12 Anaheims. I also used 6 jalapenos, since they were really small. The main difference, though, was that I roasted everything first. I roasted the chiles so I could peel them. (I hate the plastic-y bits of peel that you find in your food after you cook raw peppers and the flavor is SO much better.) Then I cut the tomatillos in half, put them cut side down on a cookie sheet and baked them until they kind of exploded and collapsed. They're a richer and deeper flavor if you roast them first. Also, the cilantro I bought was kind of gross, so I ended up using only about a third of the bunch. Cubing up the pork shoulder was a huge pain, so I think I'll use a leaner cut in the future - maybe some thin-cut chops? Easier to cube and way less fat. I left the whole thing simmering while we went to a party and I think I'll always cook it a long time in the future, so the leaner cut shouldn't end up tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is like my favorite recipe in the world....I have made it many times & I dont change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Amazing recipe! We subsituted the poblanos for sarano peppers and added a habanero for some spice and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I was expecting great things from this recipes given all the reviews. I was disappointed. While the pork was tender and yummy, the verde sauce was lacking in flavor and heat. I may try the recipe again, only next time I will leave some of the seeds from the jalapenos in it and maybe use a different green pepper all together. One with some heat to it. I am so glad that I didn't use the amount of chicken broth the recipe calls for. It would have been so runny if I had. I think I only used about a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is a family favorite!! We eat it over a bowl of rice so that you can save the juices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This chile verde is phenomenal! I don't dredge the meat in flour prior to cooking and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Disappointing. But I should have realized that most of the people who gave it 3+ stars made MAJOR revisions to the recipe. As written, it is way to watery. Gives new meaning to "soup". As a result, I had to add flour to thicken it, and this just dilutes the taste. The result is very bland, and like I said, disappointing. Rather than making a ton of revisions to make this better, I'd look for another recipe. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Awesome. Easy to make, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The closest chile verde recipe I have found outside a restaurant. It was watery and a little sharp so I added one teaspoon of sugar to cut the tartness. Much better - but that's a personal preference. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States