Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times and it is tasty. It is WAY better when you roast the veggies in the oven first... cut veggies in half, put on cookie sheet, brush with olive oil and broil until just starting to char. I have also found it to be a little on the runny side, so I use a little less broth, simmer it longer, or add a little cornstarch or flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this & followed the directions as is. The end result was similar to green pozole minus the hominy. It wasn't what I was expecting but it tasted delicious. I ended up giving in & added hominy. Way too much broth for stew. I also roasted the peppers, then removed the skin before blending. I making it again but I plan on using only 2 cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I substituted the pork with one whole chicken ( I used cut up bone-in). I fried the onions in oil till they softened and added the chopped garlic. I then added chicken and all spices and stir fried. I grilled all the peppers, removed their skin and blended along with the tomatillos. I added this mixture to the chicken. Lastly I threw in a can of black beans and cooked on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very tasty and worh the effort ! After reading others reviews I also steamed the tomatillo's and jalapeno's together until soft before blending in my food processor.I also grilled the Poblano and Bells on my gas grill and let steep in a large bowl covered tightly with plastic wrap to soften peppers enough to make peeling and blending a snap.I lightly floured the pork and in batches browned it to a nice golden brown.Unlike most reviewers I did not cook in a crock pot ...instead I used my 9qt dutch oven.The authentic way ?! Cast Iron cooking always produces better flavor/results in my opinion ! Most importantly I only used 1 QUART of low sodium broth !!!! More than enough. This Chile Verde was a hit with the wife so that says alot :) I let this simmer on low(low as my gas flame could go without blowing out) for 6 hours stirring every 30 minutes ....like I said before ..worth the effort !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was AWESOME!! I have a lot of people to please when it comes to dinner and so finding a recipe that is a crowd pleaser isn't always easy. This one was the best. One of the people that partook in this was my father-in-law who said it was the best he's ever had! One change I made was I added roasted anaheim peppers. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpellCaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kearns, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Used all ingredients as listed with the exception of using chicken broth instead of vegetable, & only needed about three 14.5 oz. cans, even though I had this simmering & thickening for 3 hours 3 cans was plenty. I also roasted the chiles & par-boiled the tomatillos as suggested by others. This was very good but still not quite the way I like it, though everyone seemed to enjoy. Next time I'll blend the chiles (maybe the cilantro too) with the tomatillos, add bit more garlic & cumin (& perhaps a little chile powder?) & a pinch of sugar to cut the tang of the tomatillos...sounding better already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Geat soup! We're all vegetarians, so we made some seitan (wheat gluten+veggie stock, pre-boiled for an hour) and put it in instead of the pork. It was the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tempest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
this is a fabulous dish with rice. I make it with ground turkey and its is just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywithin41

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I combined this and another recipe and the result was SO mind blowingly delicious. It was perfect from the first bite to the last. I did a much smaller recipe (2-4 people) Here is what went down: 1lb tomatillos, 2 jalapenos and 1 poblano, 2/3 tsp salt, 2 pinches sugar. Broil on low the husked tomatillos and de-stemmed and de-seeded (if desired) peppers on a cookie sheet on the top rack of your oven for 10 min, flip and 10 min more. Then blend them (careful, hot!) and add the salt and sugar. Set this aside. Now brown your meat. Then cook 1 med diced onion and 1 diced bell pepper until limp, add 3 cloves minced garlic and cook 2 more minutes. Then throw in 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp cumin, 1 crushed bay leaf, some fresh pepper and salt (pinch each) and 2 tsp *crushed* coriander seeds. Add in 1.5 cups chicken stock, half of a cilantro bunch, snipped up and your tomatillo blend. Simmer 2-3 hours. Or in a hurry, 1.5 hours with some chicken, for example. I served this with a rice/black bean mix (salted, coconut oil, and melted mexican cheese blend on top). WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
So good! I had a ton of tomatillos and didn't know what to do with them. This was the perfect solution. There was a lot more broth then I expected so I strained it off and used the left over broth to make a soup. It worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States