Chile Verde II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was good, but it needed attention. The recipe needed about a third of the Cilantro called for and I really like Cilantro. As another reviewer mentioned, I used way less chicken broth (just enough to cover the pork).Also, I would suggest not pureeing the cilantro with the tomatillos and just give them a good chop.I pureed them as the recipe say to and the result was less than pleasing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabeacook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe could have been so good. I tasted the puree with everything in it minus the chicken broth and it was delicious. There was so much chicken broth that the flavor was lost completely. So, I made it again and halved the recipe. I used only 3/4 of a cup of chicken broth. I also upped the tomatillos to 3 1/2 pounds and added only 2 pounds of chicken just because we prefer it to pork. I shredded the chicken with a fork an hour before turning off the crock pot. With 3 pounds of chicken, it was more like shredded chicken with tomatillo in it but with only 2 pounds, it was like a real chille. I also found the initial trial of the recipe to be watery. The trick is to boil the tomatillos whole before pureeing them. What a HUGE difference that made in the thickness. With those changes, it came out so well. My rating is based on the recipe with these changes made to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was fantastic! The flavors were wonderful and the meat was very tender. I did cook it a little longer on the 2nd simmer just to get all the peppers nice and soft. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a good repipe, but is not spicy enough for my family and needs adjustments. With these adjusments it was GREAT! I doubled the garlic, doubled the jalapenos, added an equal number of serranos, added 2 yellow chiles. I did not seed the chiles - this is where the flavor is. The other change was to use only enough chicken broth to cover the meat while simmering (about 1/3 of the called out amount). I used Morton salt lite and Trader Joe's Low sodium chicken broth the keep the sodium content under control. Prepared like this, it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the first time I made this. I read through the reviews and took advantage of everyones experience. I took a little from each person. I put the tomatillos and jalapenos in a pot with a little water (approx 1 cup) and steam/boiled them till they were soft. I also lightly floured the pork before searing in the skillet. After the pork was seared, I put the meat in a large crock pot. I put the stemed tomatillos, fresh cilantro leaves and stemed jalapenos in the blender for 1-2 min. I poured the mixture over the meat in the crock pot. I took the other peppers (yellow and poblano) and roasted them on the gas grill until they were blistered all over. I placed them in a plastic bag to cool..then under water peeled the skin off of each. I placed the yellow and pablano peppers in the blender and mixed for 1-2 min, then added this to the crock pot over the meat. I cooked the onions w/spices as instructed, and once the onions were soft I added 1/2 cup chicken broth to help deglaze the skillet then added this into the crock pot. I cut the recipe in half (service for 10), but the one IMPORTANT thing was that I added all the ingredients into the crock pot and then added the chicken stock LAST so I could control the thickness of the sauce. I ended up using approx 3 1/2 cups of chicken broth because the tomatillos and blended chilis made up the rest of the sauce. It was FANTASTIC....the BEST Verde ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savonburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I did not like this very well. I used only half the cilantro called for and it was overwhelming, plus it made the color a weird bright green. I may make it again, without the cilantro, or just as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I am sorry but way too soupy and not enough pizzaz. I have another recipe for verde in the crockpot and it has so much more flavor. Not sure why it asked for so much broth???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Just sooo delicious! Although it is dinner for tonight, I made it yesterday and had to taste it. I loved it! I did make quite a few changes like down sizing the recipe big time. I used this recipe as my main base and took some other hints from another recipe that I had found. After searching like a mad woman, I finally found tomatillos..fresh. I used 8 of them, husks removed,washed, and cut in half. I roasted these on a foil lined cookie sheet with 5 cloves of garlic and 2 poblano peppers until everything was soft. I put all of this into my food processor and blended with fresh cilantro, and jalepeno peppers. This was the most fresh smelling salsa verde ever. I used 4 huge bone in pork chops, took the meat off the bones and cut into chunks, sauteed with a little flour,salt, and pepper until browned. I also sauteed 1 yellow pepper diced and 1 vidalia onion in evoo. I added all of this into my crockpot with 1c.fat free/low sodium chix broth and let it go. The smell was insane as was the taste. I will be serving this tonight with warm torillas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
like others, I change a recipe to suit my taste, so can't really rate "the recipe" as published.. however, with the few changes I made - this was probably the best green chile I've ever cooked (and I've made a lot over the years). I really didn't like the idea of the yellow bell pepper.. omitted it completely. I chose to use a little potato as filler, and had a problem finding fresh jalapenos at my market this week, so just used sorranos and poblanos. I like it hot, so I also added like 1T pepper flakes. LOVE the idea of processing the tomatillos before cooking, never did it that way before - but will always do it that way now! :) excellent ideas in this recipe - thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I finally made this and I just had to write a review. For my first time making chile verde I was so astonished...this was wonderful. I am of mexican decent and my husband is from el salvador. He loved it!! Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsZuniga

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 91-100 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States