Chile Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I really liked this recipe. My two year old wouldn't eat it and my husband didn't even try it. You really do have to be a fan of green chiles though for it to be a hit. I won't make again because no one else ate it, but I would like to try it with cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My version of this does not call for the soup. But I tried it and liked it. Wonderful potluck dish. I added more cheese for on top, and mixed in a little onion and garlic powder for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
As described it would be quite bland. However, I added salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin, garlic, and more cheese. I also used parboiled long grain rice instead of the instant. The result is a tasty change from Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was a quick and delicious recipe that my husband and I really enjoyed. I followed the reciped exactly and it came out great. We live in the southwest and this will definitely be a crowd pleaser at an upcoming pot-luck. Thanks for the recipe, Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made it a little differently, doubled the recipe and used 3 c cooked rice. I cooked rice until water was absorbed - leaving rice slightly undercooked. Mixed rice with 1 can cr. celery, 1 can cr. chicken (it's what I had on hand), 16 oz sour cream, 7 oz can green chilis, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt. The whole family ate it up, even my 17 month old! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
My husband and I really enjoy this dish. I have made it for guests and they raved about it. I am tripling the recipe and taking it to a potluck tonight. I use fresh roasted chilies and the flavor is intense, just the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I didn't like this at all-and it smelled "weird" (which is the best way I can describe it). No one really dug this sidedish except for a friend who had stopped by to visit couldn't resist a small bowl. She said it was good w/ a little S&P (thus the 3-star rating) but other than that, I received no praise for this one and I couldn't eat more than a bite. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I just tried this for supper tonight, along with pork chops. And, my other half loved it (so did I). I guess we are both fans of chilies. And, I think you have to be because of the flavor. It's not too hot because the sour cream cuts down on the heat. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is so tasty and easy! Great for RV camping too! Everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe more than I did. It was so easy to make that it would have been a nice go-to meal. Unfortunately, it was very bland. I tried a few different spices and cumin seemed to help give it what it needed but it still fell short on flavor. If I made this agian I would definitely add a second can of green chile peppers, cumin and a secret ingredient that would make all the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States