Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
In order to get authentic tasting chile rellenos, you should use a couple of eggs, seperated. Whip the whites w/an electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Beat the yolks seperatley and fold them into the whites (preseverving the volume of the whites). Then you can dip the stuffed chiles into the egg...and don't worry about slopping it on. You want the entire chile covered. When your chile comes out of the oil, you'll have a nice fluffy coating...rather than a heavy egg-y tasting batter that most homemade recipes call for. An easy way to char your chiles is to heat up the broiler in your oven and toss the peppers directly on to the racks. (Poblano's can be substituted w/great results). You want the entire surface to be browned and blistered, so you will have to flip them occasionally. Then, stick the peppers in a zip-lock and let them steam for about 1/2 an hour or so. When you return to them, they'll be cool enough to handle, and the skin will be really easy to peel off!! Make sure not to remove the stems when you slit open the chiles to remove the seeds and membranes. Follow these tips, and you will have one tasty little treat!! Also, I use white cheese rather than cheddar (I use Oaxacan cheese...but for areas where Mexican cheese isn't available, Monterey Jack is a good substitute)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband thought these were very good, I thought they were decent. Something has to really blow me away to give it 5 stars. I followed one of the suggestions below and also did some research on authentic chile rellenos. I don't know the exact type of chile's I had, a friend gave me some from her garden. To char them, I tossed them in an 8x8 pan and put the oven on broil and rotated them as they would brown and blister. when all sides were done, I put them in a ziplock bag to steam. I returned to them about 45 min. later and they were cool enough to handle and the skin came off so easily. After slitting and cleaning out the peppers, I stuffed them with the cheddar cheese strips. The only ingredient I used for the batter was some eggs and a bit of flour....I took 3 eggs, separated them, and beat the whites until they were stiff and formed peaks. Then I beat the yolks with 1 TBsp. flour until they were pasty. I folded this mixture into the egg whites and stirred gently. Then I rolled the stuffed chiles in flour and slopped on the egg mixture. The batter puffed up beautifully when fried and really makes the authentic chile rellenos. I topped mine with warmed mild salsa. Husband gobbled them up! I am glad to have another dish to add to my collection. Thanks to Panchita and the reviewers below mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was the best and easiest recipe for rellenos, I tweaked it just a little and instead of going thru the hassle of cutting the cheese, I used string cheese, the combo stick with cheddar and mozzarella cheese, I sliced it in ½ (long way) and with that, I was able to get 2 rellenos out of one stick, it fries nicely and it doesn’t splatter like some cheeses do.. I made a tomato gravy type sauce to pour over the rellenos, that calls for one can of diced tomato with juice, 3 finely chopped celery sticks, ½ cup finely chopped onions, 2 finely chopped fresh jalapenos (remove seeds and membrane) and handful of chopped cilantro, sauté celery, onions, and jalapenos till soft, let cool and pour into blender, add the can of diced tomatoes, cilantro and blend till smooth, season with garlic salt and pepper to taste, Just pour the amount you want over the rellenos,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My husband loved these and told me I could make them every week. They really are good. I did take the advise of other reviewers and beat the egg whites separate then folded them into the rest of the batter. It made the batter nice and fluffy. Also, I used Jack cheese as I prefer rellenos with a white cheese, otherwise I followed the recipe. The best salsa to use with these is "Tomatillo Salsa Verde" submitted by Kimberly. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I'm spoiled I guess... I've lived in Southern California all my life, and love Mexican food of all types. For me, Anaheim peppers are too mild, and I'll go for the Poblano any day (and who said Poblanos were "screaming hot"? They're pretty mild...) So, I used Poblanos, of course. These were not too difficult to make (time intensive, yes. Difficult? No) but the result was not worth the effort for me when I can easily go buy really good rellenos. I'm used to a softer batter - not the crispy, fried-fish like texture of these. Done with good cheese though, they are a reasonable substitute if you just can't get to decent Mexican food. While I enjoyed these, they were not what I was expecting from a Relleno. They got three stars because they were still quite tasty, and had I not been expecting a specific result, I would have loved them. Definitely worth doing for fun and a taste of Mexico if you're just dying for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I found it easier to seed the chiles before roasting them so that they don't tear up much. Also, be sure to completely coat the stuffed pepper with meringue, which acts as insulation against the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Peacock
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
You must use "Big Jims" to get the proper flavor/spice/taste. That is the long skinny green chile. These were very rich! We only needed two a piece with a side of black beans and rice for a VERY filling meal. For the batter I used 4 eggs, separated. Whipped the whites and then blended the yolks separately with 1 TBSP of flour and some salt and then whip into the whites. Dip the chiles into some flour and then into the batter and place seam side down into the pan. Yum, yum but I still prefer the local hole in the wall chile rellenos and much less work when someone else makes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe was excellent and I impressed the hell out of my girlfriend whom had tried this same dish at a restaurant we went to just a couple of weeks prior. I was told that mine was much better than the place we had dined at. WOOHOOO thank you !!! Make sure you separate the eggs beating the whites first then beating the yolks and then folding the yolks into the whites, then add your batter ingredients, it turned out amazingly well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This dish was fantastic. My boyfriend wanted seconds and even thirds. I used the canned whole chiles and added monterey jack in with the cheddar. It turned out very well. The only downside was that the batter made a huge mess afterward. Oh well, that's what 409 is for. I will be making this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These rellenos were so delicious and easy to make. We live in southwest New Mexico were we can buy rellenos all the time, but I was in search of a good recipe to make them. I am happy to say I finally found one that is a keeper! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States