Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I made a scaled-down version of this recipe with two large peppers. Everything worked well--the coating was fabulous. Just lacked a little flavor. Maybe I'll use sharp cheddar next time instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband thought these were very good, I thought they were decent. Something has to really blow me away to give it 5 stars. I followed one of the suggestions below and also did some research on authentic chile rellenos. I don't know the exact type of chile's I had, a friend gave me some from her garden. To char them, I tossed them in an 8x8 pan and put the oven on broil and rotated them as they would brown and blister. when all sides were done, I put them in a ziplock bag to steam. I returned to them about 45 min. later and they were cool enough to handle and the skin came off so easily. After slitting and cleaning out the peppers, I stuffed them with the cheddar cheese strips. The only ingredient I used for the batter was some eggs and a bit of flour....I took 3 eggs, separated them, and beat the whites until they were stiff and formed peaks. Then I beat the yolks with 1 TBsp. flour until they were pasty. I folded this mixture into the egg whites and stirred gently. Then I rolled the stuffed chiles in flour and slopped on the egg mixture. The batter puffed up beautifully when fried and really makes the authentic chile rellenos. I topped mine with warmed mild salsa. Husband gobbled them up! I am glad to have another dish to add to my collection. Thanks to Panchita and the reviewers below mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this delicious dinner tonight for my family and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
We made this recipe as a side dish for Thanksgiving this year. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
In order to get authentic tasting chile rellenos, you should use a couple of eggs, seperated. Whip the whites w/an electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Beat the yolks seperatley and fold them into the whites (preseverving the volume of the whites). Then you can dip the stuffed chiles into the egg...and don't worry about slopping it on. You want the entire chile covered. When your chile comes out of the oil, you'll have a nice fluffy coating...rather than a heavy egg-y tasting batter that most homemade recipes call for. An easy way to char your chiles is to heat up the broiler in your oven and toss the peppers directly on to the racks. (Poblano's can be substituted w/great results). You want the entire surface to be browned and blistered, so you will have to flip them occasionally. Then, stick the peppers in a zip-lock and let them steam for about 1/2 an hour or so. When you return to them, they'll be cool enough to handle, and the skin will be really easy to peel off!! Make sure not to remove the stems when you slit open the chiles to remove the seeds and membranes. Follow these tips, and you will have one tasty little treat!! Also, I use white cheese rather than cheddar (I use Oaxacan cheese...but for areas where Mexican cheese isn't available, Monterey Jack is a good substitute)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This is a good recipe for the batter. Topped with a flavorful green chile and pork sauce, Spanish rice, and refritos, this is a favorite in my family. I used roasted Big Jim chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
this recipe sounds really good, only i think substituting the cheddar for jack cheese would be much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I just made this, and my husband and I both love it. I have always loved the chile rellenos in a particular Mexican buffet style restaurant in Houston, but couldn't find them made that way anywhere else. This recipe is the closest I've had. I made only one small change...I used Pepper Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This dish was fantastic. My boyfriend wanted seconds and even thirds. I used the canned whole chiles and added monterey jack in with the cheddar. It turned out very well. The only downside was that the batter made a huge mess afterward. Oh well, that's what 409 is for. I will be making this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I loved it but was I suppose to boil or roast peppers before peeling?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States