Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Back in NY for several years after 18 years of living in Los Angeles left me craving my beloved Chile Rellenos! This recipe was very good and I will definitely use it again! I used Cacique Ranchero cheese instead of cheddar and I would have preferred screaming hot Poblano Chile peppers if I could only find them here! Muchas Gracious Panchita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: East Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I was a little dissapointed with the batter as it did not turn out "poufy" like the chile rellenos I am used to. However, my friend from Mexico loved them. I did substitute muenster cheese for the cheddar, which turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I'm not a big relleno lover but hubby is & he gave these 4 stars. We used a mexican blend of cheese instaed of cheddar & added some well seasoned ground beef. We did a Mexican theme night & started the meal off w/ Grilled Poblano Pepper and Mango Quesadillas & Banana Margeritas. Then we served the Rellenos w/ Easy 'Charro' Beans, warm corn tortillas w/ butter & Margarita Cake for dessert...very enjoyable dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
YUM! I found this recipe easy to follow and to have success with. I used my own fresh peppers and served them with enchillada sauce. THIS is what a chile relano should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made these for my husband for Cinco de Mayo, and I have to say they are AWESOME!! The batter is THE BEST. They are just as good as any restaurant. Since it was my first time dealing with Anaheim's (charring) I was afraid at what might happen, but I could not have been more pleased. Both my husband & myself really, really loved. Thanks Panchita!!! Oh, next time I am going to stuff with cheese & chorizo. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
All the way through this recipe I was sure it would be a disaster. I am familiar with broiling chiles and peeling them, but they can be delicate and it is difficult to scoop out the seeds. The batter was messy, but despite seeming like they would fall apart, the chiles held up better than expected. Even after letting the chiles sit for awhile, causing them to be soft rather than crispy, the taste was still quite good! However, these make horrible leftovers as they get soggy and gooey. Overall, a good recipe, but I live in Arizona and I'll pay $8.95 at a resturant to avoid going through that again. Messy, time consuming, and complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
far too oily...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Oh, I feel like I'm back in Arizona. We moved to Washington a few years ago and have yet to find a good Mexican Restraunt. This recipe was awesome!!!!! I just changed the cheese to Monterey Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsimad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was my first time making rellenos and it was easy and tasted great. This recipe is for crispy "gringo" rellenos (which my husband and I both prefer)as opposed to the authentic soft rellenos that other reviewers made and were looking for. I used mild Hatch green chiles(already roasted) and stuffed them with a strip of white mexican cheese. They came out nice and crispy and we topped them off with homemade green chile and served them with ranch style beans over rice. I also seasoned the batter up with some taco seasoning. Yum-O! THanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I made a scaled-down version of this recipe with two large peppers. Everything worked well--the coating was fabulous. Just lacked a little flavor. Maybe I'll use sharp cheddar next time instead of medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States