Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fabulous! My DH was impressed! I followed suggestions from other cooks & beat my egg whites before folding into batter. I used Poblano chiles and stuffed with a good thick slice of Monterey Jack cheese. It was as good as any I've had at restaurants. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are decent. But I would strongly suggest using pasilla peppers/poblano my mom has always made them with thouse and they are the absolute best. Some times she makes them in this hot red salsa and the flavors mix so well in a hot tortilla. Yum!! Definately try poblano...she even leaves a few seeds in to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good. Labor intensive. A little too fattening to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Chili Rellenos, and their variations, are always my favorite. I use Tempura Batter Mix, it's quick and easy. Mix using beer instead of water until the desired consistency is met. I also use strips of velveeta cheese, I love the taste and it melts faster than cheddar or jack. Also, try leaving the seeds and membranes in the pepper, I never remove them, some peppers are hot and some are not. I love the Poblano peppers, but all the peppers mentioned are a great choice. And, lastly, definitely use Canola oil. It's less greasy than vegetable oil and more healthly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
i never made chiles rellenos so good until i found this recipe,my husband loved them,i would keep this recipe for the family,very good,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was the best and easiest recipe for rellenos, I tweaked it just a little and instead of going thru the hassle of cutting the cheese, I used string cheese, the combo stick with cheddar and mozzarella cheese, I sliced it in ½ (long way) and with that, I was able to get 2 rellenos out of one stick, it fries nicely and it doesn’t splatter like some cheeses do.. I made a tomato gravy type sauce to pour over the rellenos, that calls for one can of diced tomato with juice, 3 finely chopped celery sticks, ½ cup finely chopped onions, 2 finely chopped fresh jalapenos (remove seeds and membrane) and handful of chopped cilantro, sauté celery, onions, and jalapenos till soft, let cool and pour into blender, add the can of diced tomatoes, cilantro and blend till smooth, season with garlic salt and pepper to taste, Just pour the amount you want over the rellenos,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were very yummy - I impressed myself with my first attempt at chile rellenos (lol - I'm a gringa!!) I simplified the batter per other reviews - just egg (separated, whip the whites then fold in yolk with 1 Tbsp flour and milk). Will definitely do this again - thanks panchita!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were primo! I think the secret to "undressing" the peppers is freshness. I got mine at the local farmers' market and cooked them same day. The skins came off almost in one piece! The batter is wonderful and easy to do--a hit with my family and me. I have always wanted to try chile rellenos but was intimidated (I don't know why). No more--these are great and I will keep making them and making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! I have made them twice now with poblano peppers (I found the smaller ones easier to work with). I first roasted them under the broiler until bubbling and the skin has black spots, stuck them in the plastic bag to steam awhile then peeled the skins. Split them and gently took out the seeds. Stuffed with Monterey Jack cheese and stuck tooth picks through the peppers making sure to go though the cheese also to hold them together ( I will buy longer toothpicks next time since they get lost after they are battered and fried). I loved the taste of the batter but if you like a lite batter look for recipes that use whipped egg whites; this one is heavier! Served with red enchilada sauce, rice and beans... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I found it easier to seed the chiles before roasting them so that they don't tear up much. Also, be sure to completely coat the stuffed pepper with meringue, which acts as insulation against the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States