Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
i never made chiles rellenos so good until i found this recipe,my husband loved them,i would keep this recipe for the family,very good,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was the best and easiest recipe for rellenos, I tweaked it just a little and instead of going thru the hassle of cutting the cheese, I used string cheese, the combo stick with cheddar and mozzarella cheese, I sliced it in ½ (long way) and with that, I was able to get 2 rellenos out of one stick, it fries nicely and it doesn’t splatter like some cheeses do.. I made a tomato gravy type sauce to pour over the rellenos, that calls for one can of diced tomato with juice, 3 finely chopped celery sticks, ½ cup finely chopped onions, 2 finely chopped fresh jalapenos (remove seeds and membrane) and handful of chopped cilantro, sauté celery, onions, and jalapenos till soft, let cool and pour into blender, add the can of diced tomatoes, cilantro and blend till smooth, season with garlic salt and pepper to taste, Just pour the amount you want over the rellenos,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were very yummy - I impressed myself with my first attempt at chile rellenos (lol - I'm a gringa!!) I simplified the batter per other reviews - just egg (separated, whip the whites then fold in yolk with 1 Tbsp flour and milk). Will definitely do this again - thanks panchita!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were primo! I think the secret to "undressing" the peppers is freshness. I got mine at the local farmers' market and cooked them same day. The skins came off almost in one piece! The batter is wonderful and easy to do--a hit with my family and me. I have always wanted to try chile rellenos but was intimidated (I don't know why). No more--these are great and I will keep making them and making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! I have made them twice now with poblano peppers (I found the smaller ones easier to work with). I first roasted them under the broiler until bubbling and the skin has black spots, stuck them in the plastic bag to steam awhile then peeled the skins. Split them and gently took out the seeds. Stuffed with Monterey Jack cheese and stuck tooth picks through the peppers making sure to go though the cheese also to hold them together ( I will buy longer toothpicks next time since they get lost after they are battered and fried). I loved the taste of the batter but if you like a lite batter look for recipes that use whipped egg whites; this one is heavier! Served with red enchilada sauce, rice and beans... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I found it easier to seed the chiles before roasting them so that they don't tear up much. Also, be sure to completely coat the stuffed pepper with meringue, which acts as insulation against the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe is a favorite every time I make it. I always have to make more because one recipe worth isn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Begent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I separated the eggs and beat the whites as has been suggested. It made all the difference in a perfect coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Wow...way time consuming. Removing the skins was a HUGE pain. I blistered them on my gas range then put them in a zip lock bag for over 30 minutes. The skins were not easy to peel. The batter part was very messy. The flavors just weren't there. I would suggest using poblanos instead of Anaheim. I will not be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My husband loved these and told me I could make them every week. They really are good. I did take the advise of other reviewers and beat the egg whites separate then folded them into the rest of the batter. It made the batter nice and fluffy. Also, I used Jack cheese as I prefer rellenos with a white cheese, otherwise I followed the recipe. The best salsa to use with these is "Tomatillo Salsa Verde" submitted by Kimberly. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAUTICOLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States