Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and was soooo very happy to serve authentic Chile Rellenos! I served these with Macayo's Enchilada sauce (thickened slightly with some extra Monterey Jack cheese) and spanish rice and beans. Great Meal! Will definitely add these to the Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I blackened my peppers under the broiler and peeled them after steaming them in a paper bag for a few minutes. I tried removing the stems and seeds after blackening and steaming, but the pepper tore up pretty easily, so I would do it beforehand next time. I dipped each peeled pepper in an egg wash, rolled them in Panko bread crumbs, and baked at 350 for 10 minutes rather than frying. Delicious! It didn't taste too different from restaurant chile rellenos but was much healthier without all the oil. That said, this was quite time consuming, but they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really good recipe and dish. These were delicious. I was always afraid to make these because I thought I'd mess it up. I used hot peppers from our garden and served with Mexican rice and homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have always wanted to cook chile rellenos but was intimidated. This took a lot of steps but it came out great. I used very mild banana peppers from my own garden and a mexican cheese blend. I separated the eggs for the batter, as directed in several reviews, and they turned out fantastic. I plan on using a pepper and or cheese with more kick next time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I agree with a previous reviewer that whipping the eggs whites and folding in the yolks is an absolute must for the batter. With really hot oil it cooks up light very light and melts in your mouth. I also used pepper jack cheese, as it was all I had in the house, and loved it. This may very well be my favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved it! I added a little cumin to the batter then I double dipped the batter before I fried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Thanks Panchita, This is the best relleno batter recipe I've come across. I had batter left over and made onion rings, they were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Fabulous! My DH was impressed! I followed suggestions from other cooks & beat my egg whites before folding into batter. I used Poblano chiles and stuffed with a good thick slice of Monterey Jack cheese. It was as good as any I've had at restaurants. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are decent. But I would strongly suggest using pasilla peppers/poblano my mom has always made them with thouse and they are the absolute best. Some times she makes them in this hot red salsa and the flavors mix so well in a hot tortilla. Yum!! Definately try poblano...she even leaves a few seeds in to make it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Good. Labor intensive. A little too fattening to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States