Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was alright. I enjoyed the basic taste but I found the batter to be bland and I recommend battering them twice before frying. Sauce is a must with this recipe. Enchilada sauce worked just fine. All in all I prefer to get these at a restaurant because they didn't wow me enough for the amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Great recipe! I used Poblano peppers for this and also added seasoned ground beef to the cheese filling. The advice to whip the egg white seperately from the yolk before adding to the coating ingredients was great! the batter puffed up so well it looked like a restaurant quality relleno! This recipe is easy, but labor intensive. Make sure you have plenty of time to devote to this since you have to broil the peppers and sweat them in a bag to remove the skin. I'll make these again for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe was excellent and I impressed the hell out of my girlfriend whom had tried this same dish at a restaurant we went to just a couple of weeks prior. I was told that mine was much better than the place we had dined at. WOOHOOO thank you !!! Make sure you separate the eggs beating the whites first then beating the yolks and then folding the yolks into the whites, then add your batter ingredients, it turned out amazingly well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These rellenos were so delicious and easy to make. We live in southwest New Mexico were we can buy rellenos all the time, but I was in search of a good recipe to make them. I am happy to say I finally found one that is a keeper! I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I had a really hard time peeling the peppers, I'm betting there is a trick to it, so it took me a REALLY long time. Otherwise, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I found this to be really easy and delicious. I grilled poblano peppers on my grill, peeled them after cooling. I cut some pepper jack into thick strips and inserted one into a small hole poked into the top of each pepper. Then I dipped in the batter (which was perfect) and fried them up. Served with salsa and sour cream. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Excellent recipe!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and was soooo very happy to serve authentic Chile Rellenos! I served these with Macayo's Enchilada sauce (thickened slightly with some extra Monterey Jack cheese) and spanish rice and beans. Great Meal! Will definitely add these to the Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I blackened my peppers under the broiler and peeled them after steaming them in a paper bag for a few minutes. I tried removing the stems and seeds after blackening and steaming, but the pepper tore up pretty easily, so I would do it beforehand next time. I dipped each peeled pepper in an egg wash, rolled them in Panko bread crumbs, and baked at 350 for 10 minutes rather than frying. Delicious! It didn't taste too different from restaurant chile rellenos but was much healthier without all the oil. That said, this was quite time consuming, but they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really good recipe and dish. These were delicious. I was always afraid to make these because I thought I'd mess it up. I used hot peppers from our garden and served with Mexican rice and homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have always wanted to cook chile rellenos but was intimidated. This took a lot of steps but it came out great. I used very mild banana peppers from my own garden and a mexican cheese blend. I separated the eggs for the batter, as directed in several reviews, and they turned out fantastic. I plan on using a pepper and or cheese with more kick next time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States