Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
great! worth all the time. I made these for cinco de mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe was almost a total fail. The batter was soooo thick. Even after following the recommendations to use 2 eggs and whip the whites it was just a thick goop. The first two rellenos had so much goopy batter that cooked up and slid right off the pepper they were a disaster. So I added a third egg and just enough milk to make the batter a normal, although thick consistency. I also skipped the first dip in flour as that just made the batter not stick at all. With the milk I was able to dip and coat the entire pepper. I used Anaheim peppers and they were just right for my taste, just hot enough but not overwhelming. My husband who has a higher tolerance didn't think they were hot at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Colstrip, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Although I've not tried this one yet, I do intend to do so. These are the kind of Rellenos I grew up on when I lived on the border. Mexican food varies by region based on what is most readily available. Throughout the border area along the New Mexico/Far West Texas area, Green chile is a common ingredient in Mexican food. It is also commonly used for Chile Rellenos. Hatch, New Mexico is also know as the Chile Capital of the world which is in this region. Other parts of Mexico use Poblano. Both create authentic dishes even though they are different peppers. When using Long Green chile (Anaheim, Big Jim etc.) try to get chiles that are straight and not curled up or twisted. Roast them in your oven under the broiler or put them on your grill. Turn them as the chile skin is charred. Once the skin is charred, put them in a plastic bag or a bowl covered with plastic for about 30 minutes. The skins should then come off very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Terrible attempt at a great Mexican dish. I think a gringo over heard the concept of chile rellanos and attempted to Americanize it . I would suggest finding a recipe that uses no flour only egg whites, polbano peppers and queso fresco or queso blanco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Rave reviews for these authentic chiles rellenos. I made them for just 4 Chile Poblanos. Gave one to a neighbor who loved it. Had to learn how to get the skins off, Panchita taught me. Tomorrow I make them for 30 people! I used Poblano chilies, canned El Patio sauce, and San Juan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Thanks for the Recipe! Very delicious by itself or smothered with red chile! My daughter now loves both green and red chili after having this dinner. I love the batter recipe and use it with multiple other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Anthony

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These turned out great!! I also took the advice of whipping the egg white separate from the yolk then folding together. I used Monterey jack cheese too. I only had 6 peppers but made the whole recipe for batter and used it all - I def wouldn't have had enough to fully coat 12 peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made this but I added a few more things....takes longer to make but really good. I stuffed the peppers with cheese and seasoned ground turkey. I find the cheese ones are missing something...After I fried they I threw them in the oven and topped them with cheese..YUMMMM!!! I also made a tomato sauce....using some chicken stock, a whole onion cut up in small pieces some diced up garlic and a can of diced tomato let is simmer until all onion is really soft. take chiles out of the oven and top off with your sauce totally DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
You can also roast the chiles on your burner over the fire until the skin is charred. Put the chiles in a plastic bag... helps in removing the skin. Add so seasoning like salt and white pepper to the batter for flavor.... taste it. Sounds gross but how do you know the flavor unless you taste it. Makes sense right? Not sure about the cheddar though... I'd use jack or pepper jack, but that is my taste preference. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Here's some tips that might help you: -- use toothpicks to help keep the cheese inside -- then dip in the batter (making sure you separated the egg white/yolk and whipped whites to soft peaks) --> Someone please explain how to broil then "steam" the skins... broiling alone didn't seem to do the trick. --> I fried my first batch, and will bake the second batch, in the oven like a casserole, keeping the chiles separate. --> I used passilla chiles and queso cheese (this kind of cheese doesn't "liquify" at higher temps). --> Like tamales, these are time intensive, so make them with a friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States