Chile Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
These are the CRUNCHY kind of chile rellenos...my favorite kind! All the people telling you to whip the egg whites are trying to make this recipe into the traditional puffy non-crunchy batter chile rellenos! Don't get them confused! If you put sauce on top of the crunchy ones, it doesn't break down the nice crunch as quickly...that's why I like them better. My problem is I can never take out the seeds and veins without cutting through the whole pepper, so I always have to use toothpicks to hold them together while frying...a mouth hazard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wonderful! slice the pepper and remove seeds before broiling to remove the skin. Beat egg whites until still as another reviewer wrote. When finished frying the peppers, I fried some diced tomatoes and onions to top the peppers off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
My husband and I were wonderfully amazed at how easy and tasty this recipe is. I may add a tweak or two next time for personal taste, but we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I'm going to try this recipe and also what STELLA advised, to seed the chiles before roasting them. But I always use HATCH, New Mexico long green chile and muenster cheese. Cheddar cheese is TEX-MEX. Also, it just has to have the tomato sauce on top, will try STELLA's tomato sauce recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These don't even taste like rellenos should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Will try it, but I will use peanut oïl because from what I have read, the most unhealthy oils for frying are sunflower, canola, and vegetable oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Tip for removing the skin easy is to let it sweat in a plastic bag for about 30 mins then de-seed it. If it comes out to oily drain it on a paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Good basic recipe, though this is the type of recipe that needs a good list of variations. Being from New Mexico, there are other chilies you can use to raise or lower the fire to taste. There are a variety of cheeses you can use. Most importantly, there are a variety of options about what you stuff your chilies with: Precooked and spiced chicken, pork or beef, or a variety of soy products and beans for the vegetarians in the crowd. You can go vegan with a little imagination. What this does, very nicely, is demystify the process that can seem a little daunting to people who do not have experience deep frying. Because the rellenos are long and thin, you can easily fry them in a cast iron skillet with a minimum of oil (only about an inch). Another way to up the heat is to leave the seeds in. Should have included a link in the notes about charring the chilies; fresh is always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
If you use Mozzarella cheese, you don't get greasy cheese flavor. So delicious and creamy. You can also dip them in Panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS MUCH BETTER USING VELVEETA AND MONTEREY JACK CHEESE. THEY ARE SOFT CHEESES AND THEY MELT SO EASILY. REDROBYNNAU WAS CORRECT ON THE BATTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

How to Choose Chile Peppers

See how to pick a proper pepper, how size corresponds to heat, and more!

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States