Chile Rellenos Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made a few alterations based on what I like and how I like my quiche to come out. I sauteed 1/2 a sweet onion and 2 garlic cloves to make 2 quiches. Used 2 diced tomatillos (one large one small), 1 bell pepper split between both and a bit of cayenne to the egg mixture which I whipped separately and poured over the other ingredients (3 eggs each quiche with milk, 4 would have spilled over the crust). Added fresh lime juice to onions and let tomatillos sautee for about 1 min. with the onions at the very end of cooking them to reduce the moisture (not big on soggy quiches, which is why I didn't add the diced green chilies to the mix) Pressed cheese into crust, layered the other ingredients and topped with cheese. Served with fresh avocado and sour cream. Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fantastapotomus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Chile rellenos is my dad's favorite mexican thing, so I made this for him. He LOVED it. I did everything as is, except replacing the cilantro with flat-leaf parsley. It was delicious--not too spicy [which I liked].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Tasty! I use fresh, roasted Hatch (New Mexican) peppers instead of canned green chiles. 2 medium to large peppers are the equivalent of a 4-oz can of chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good flavor and will make again, however, I was looking for more of the "Chile Relleno" flavor to shine through. Fell every short. Not in a bad way, it was very good. And please use the recipe for Cheesy Quiche Crust found on here for the crust, the prepared pie crust for a sweet pie totally compromised the savory flavor of this dish. The Cheesy Quiche Crust made all the difference. Have made it twice now, once with each crust. Delicious Savory Chile Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yummy we like a bit more hot sauce in it and on it once complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Spookshow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used fresh jalapenos and baked my "pie" in five tartlet pans. To my taste, it wasn't spicy and I will adjust that in the future, but I enjoyed it and didn't even notice until I was half-way through my tart that ... I forgot to add the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Good for an easy and light meal - served it with a salad - made some rice to go with it if we were really starving. A keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My husband & I loved this!! Used a little dried cilantro (don't have fresh) & lots of fresh garlic. We like it spicy so I used habenoro salsa. Only had roasted red peppers in the jar (but they were delish)! Thanks for my new fav egg bake. This would be good even without the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good. I always order chile rellenos when I eat Mexican, but had no clue how to make it. This was very tasty. Not exactly what i get when I go out but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
overall this was okay easy to make and good. but we still felt it was missing something will not it make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States