Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Just looking at this recipe, I could tell it would be WAY too bland for our tastes, as other reviewers noted. To liven it up and make it a 5* recipe, add a packet of taco seasoning, 2 tsp fresh garlic, a Tbsp of chile sauce, and some black pepper. I also used monterey-jack cheese and added chili powder to the top. Excellent with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been using a version of this recipe for years. For the milk I use a 14 oz can of evap. milk only. I live alone so I make the casserole in mini-loaf pans and freeze, then thaw and heat when I want it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Loved it!! I usually try to follow a recipe closely on the first try, but I did make some changes to this based on other reviews. I added about 1/3 packet of taco seasoning to the meat, and some pepper jack cheese to the casserole. This may not be authentic Mexican, and may not taste exactly like chili rellenos, but it's darn good and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I'm not sure if anyone mentioned this yet. So here goes! Buy fresh greenchiles, anaheim will do- But Hatch are best.. Roast them in your oven broiler till they blister, turning to get all sides even as possible. Remove and place in a brown grocery bag, with the top folded over for 5 or so minutes. Peel stem and seed. The other tip is to combine your ground beef with an equal ammount of PORK CHIORIZO. Brown them together. Make sure you cook thoroghly. Drain grease and continue with original recipe. I also replace a small (1/3 portion) of the flour measure for the casserole "glue" with yellow corn meal, and add a few shakes of any mexican brand or tabaso type sauce to the batter. Fight Night Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Great if you add lots of cumin, chili powder, oregano and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
very delicious and eay to make,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Put it this way: My 11 year-old had five helpings! And then two days later asked when I was going to make it again. Since I used a 9 x 13 dish, I altered the recipe by using 3 cans of chiles and 2 cups of cheese. I also sauted the beef with taco seasoning - couldn't imagine the dish without the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Pretty good dish! Seems more like a spicy breakfast meal than one eaten at lunch but we still liked it. Also, add the taco seasoning to the meat...it really does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Next time i would use more cheese and a little less beef. I also added taco seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe is very very easy to make, and I suppose for the effort involved, it is great. Since a majority of the ingredients are canned, it does have that canned, bland taste, which again, given the quick fix recipe, still comes out good. I think the cheese was waaaaay to much. I love cheese, but this was more like a cheese enchilada with chiles on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States