Chile Relleno Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Husband loved it. I used 4 cans of green chilies, 4 cups of cheese and a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Great recipe. Love that it's simple! After reading some of the reviews I decided to add a package of taco seasoning to the meat and onions but *yikes* I didn't have any. I decided to use the Taco Seasoning I from this website. I browned the meat, added the onion, then simmered for 20 min with 2 T of taco seasoning and half cup of water. I used FOUR cans of whole chiles (because one wasn't enough to make a full layer) and 3 cups of cheese. I used two cans for the first layer (sliced in half and spread out), then 1.5 cup cheese, meat mixture,1.5 cup cheese, 2 more cans of chiles, and egg mixture as directed. I'm so glad I added extra cheese. It was an attractive casserole and I think I'll bring it to my next potluck. My husband and I liked it a lot but I think I might add diced chiles to the meat mixture so make it hotter. Served with Spanish rice and Tapatio sauce & sour cream on the side. I'll give it 5 stars when I can make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
When I first viewed this recipe I wasn't too sure about it because it seemed too bland. But I tried it anyway and added to it. I added taco seasoning and minced garlic to my ground beef along with the onion. My family loved it! I would recommend this recipe but know that you will need to add some spices to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moundville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was excellent! My husband loved it and went back for seconds. All the ingredients really compliment each other. This is on my regular list of dishes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
its a good recipe, the only thing was that i didnt care for the meat mixture and I would add more chiles and cheese to this recipe. But otherwise I like it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Easy to prepare. Family gave it 4 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have been using a version of this recipe for years. For the milk I use a 14 oz can of evap. milk only. I live alone so I make the casserole in mini-loaf pans and freeze, then thaw and heat when I want it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I was worried, but this turned out great! Made it the night before, then put it in the oven when we got home. Substituted eggs with Egg Beaters and added garlic and onion powder, paprika, and parsley. This is good for brunch or dinner. We even had it cold the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
we had white rice with this and it was a great dish! Maybe some fresh diced tomatoes on top after it's finished baking would add just that perfect touch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasescapee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Made it the first time per the recipe and it wasn't good. Used chorizo in place of the beef the second time and it wasn't too much better. Giving up on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States