Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
First, I'd like to say that the poor review from RMSR is completely irrelevant! Hello....If you completely didn't follow the recipe then don't give it a bad rating! I followed the recipe to the T. The only question I had was how small to cube the meat. I made the cubes about 1-2" square and as SunnyByrd did, I crowded the meat in the dish. Baked for 2 hours and it's perfect! Great recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBARTLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was different. By itself, the pork was just dry dry dry with an overpowering taste of - well, I'm not sure if it was too much cumin or too much chili powder, but *something* was off. I just couldn't eat it. Having said that, I had made some Spanish rice to go along with meal, so I simply cut the meat up smaller, mixed it in with the rice, cheese, and sour cream and ate it in a burrito. Now THAT was good. I'd probably give this a 3 1/2 (only because the meat was SO dry ... and I had cut my pieces fairly large after ready similar comments by other reviewers. Thanks so much for recipe, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only baked this for about 1.5 hours because I was worried about the meat drying out and getting ruined. My pieces of meat had crispy edges and tender centers and we were happy with it. I served with cilantro potatoes and Calabacitas con Elote (a zucchini/corn recipe also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Since the recipe is lacking in instructions I wasn't sure what type of pan to bake this in and if I should cover it or not. Since it did mention "cook until crispy" and the temp was low I opted for a 13x9 metal pan and didn't cover.... sadly it was terribly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Spices seemed off to us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love this and make it often. Instead of cooking it in the oven I cook it in a skillet on the stove hot and fast. Pork is very tasty and juicy this way, saves time too. I serve them on corn tortillas with lime, guacamole, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
We loved this although I did change the recipe. I had chucks of pork, no chili powder and added a small chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a 1/2 a small can of tomato sauce then I threw it all in the crock pot. I put it on HIGH for 3 1/2 hours. It was crazy good. We shredded it for tacos and the toddlers had it over rice. The babies loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
The flavor was really good and even my 5 and 7 year old really liked it in tacos. I followed the recipe pretty close but used a different cut of pork that I had on hand which made it much harder to cut into chunks ahead of time so I diced it after cooking for about the 2 hours then returned to the oven to brown it some more. Next time I will be sure to buy the pork tenderloin and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't have chili powder, so I used a thai red chili paste and it turned out excellent. Next time I will marinade it longer. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and snugged the meat tightly in a greased baking dish. I cooked it 1 !/2 hours and it was almost too much. My husband felt it was a little dry, but loved the flavors. So the next day I warmed up the leftovers with some veggies and Thai Kitchen Sweet Chili Sauce and served over the rice and it was excellent. I served it both days with the Orange Rice which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Followed recipe as written. Followed other posters suggestions and spread in single layer in oiled shallow casserole and baked. Baking time depends on the size of your pork cubes. Mine were about 1 inch and I bled a little less than 1 hour. Served with baked potato and salad. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States