Chile Garlic BBQ Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
To be honest, I would give this 2 stars but that was because I made changes which isn't the recipe's fault. I marinated the salmon overnight in half of the sauce. BIG mistake - the flavors were really really strong, and totally overwhelmed the salmon. We ate it but didn't enjoy it much. In this particular case, I would stick to the recipe instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
It was a little too salty for my taste, but a very good spice and flavor nonetheless. Next time, will maybe cut down a little on the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
We made this last night by baking it in the oven - it was delicious! I marinated the salmon for 1-2 hours before baking. Marinating lets the flavors really permeate the fish. The time is well worth the improvement in flavor, so don't skip this step if you can help it! I can't wait to try it on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
You can omit the chile sauce if you don't have any. Also you can substitute 1/4 c. lime or lemon juice from concentrate. A little salt also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I loved this, and I am very picky about salmon recipes. Like other reviewers, I thought the flavors would overpower the salmon, but the marinade really wasn't too strong at all! I used a 1 lb. salmon filet cut into 2" chunks but kept the other quantities the same, wrapped in foil and baked in the oven for about a half hour. The only thing I would do differently next time is use lite soy sauce (personal preference) and if baking like I did this time I would open the foil for the last 5 minutes to let the sauce carmelize a bit. Will definitely try this with a whole salmon some day as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Living in the Pacific NW, I don't like to add anything too fancy to salmon....my husband was worried that this dish would cover up the flavor of the salmon..and amazingly it enhanced the flavor of the salmon. This is a regular salmon dish in our family now...don't hesitate to try it if you love the real salmon flavor...this did NOT cover it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really great aroma and flavor. I did this on the BBQ, but next time will do it in the oven. I wasn't able to control the heat well enough in the BBQ and had to cook it much longer than specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a great change from the typical "Asian" marinade. I love the spicy kick...marinate overnight for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used this as a marinade rather than a sauce and it turned out really well! I did use lemon instead of lime and no zest, plus a little more soy sauce than the recipe called for. I didn't find the flavors too overpowering at all, like some did, possibly because I didn't wrap the fish up with the sauce. I used a grill grate instead with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States