Chile Garlic BBQ Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Pretty good!!! Made this for dinner last night. Prep couldn't be any easier! I like the fact that the marinade is made with ingredients I usually have on had (with the exception of chile sauce - I had to buy Sriracha since I didn't have it readily available). Instead of purchasing a whole 1.5 lb. salmon (I halved the recipe for my bf and I), I purchased two large filets which were about .5 lb. each. I made exactly half the marinade (i.e. enough for 3 servings / 1.5 lbs. fish). I added the white portions of my green onions to the marinade, but saved the green parts for garnish as directed. Instead of grilling, I sealed each filet in a double thickness of aluminum foil and baked, closed for 20 minutes and then slightly opened for an additional 5 minutes. Served atop porcini mushroom risotto with a side of sweet potatoes and fresh cracked wheat french baugette purchased at my Italian bakery. While I liked this (and it's healthy to boot!), I didn't think it was flavorful enough to make again. Perhaps marinating for longer than 30 minutes (as I did) would do the trick??? I think this could use a little kick as well... red pepper flakes or a very spicy chile sauce (and more of it) perhaps??? Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
We love this recipe and this is one of the easiest salmon recipe anyone can make. I made it twice already. The first time, I followed the recipe as it was written. We were very impressed. Though after reading most of the reviews, many reviewers were wondering if the fish can be marinated more than 30 minutes. I, personally do not agree marinating more that 30 minutes. I want to taste my fish, and have the marinade compliment the fish, not the other way around. So the second time I made this recipe, I decided to make my marinade a day early. I combined ALL the ingredient (except for the fish) in a container, added a small drop of sesame oil, and about 15 cilantro leaves. The next day, I poured the marinade on the fish, marinate it for 30 minutes and baked it. Sprinkled it fresh scallions and cilantro. The dish is so delicious. All the ingredients complimented each other. Although, when i serve this dish to a group of people, I think I will strain the marinade before pouring it to the fish. The presentation will be better if my guest do not see the chucks of garlic, ginger and wilted scallions and cilantro. Can't wait to make this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lagdameo
Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this salmon last night and it was so delicious better than I expected. I used only a teaspoon of the brown sugar and it was an awesome sauce. This is one recipe I will use for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was just okay. It really needed to marianate overnight, but I didn't since it didn't call for it. I like marianades to cover the salmon taste and this didn't at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I use this marinade on everything. I also stuff the salmon with cornbread stuffing, marinade and then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I was too lazy to do the lime zest so I found a premade chile and lime marinade. This got an all around thumbs up in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good flavor, easy to make, everyone ate it right up. Loved it. Cooked it on a gas grill and it didn't take so long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious! I also used filets and baked in the oven. We just had this for dinner last night and I want it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I also cooked it in the oven because I am recently single again and have no BBQ grill. If you wanted to spice it up a notch add some crushed red peppers. Kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very easy - & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaundice lemur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States