Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Bake a little bit longer than the directions call for, especially if you live somewhere humid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I have made this house two years in a row (for Valentine's Day instead of Xmas) and I think it's a great recipe. One year I needed to add flour, the other year I didn't, so just plan accordingly. The icing is amazing and holds the pieces together perfectly. I make tall houses and don't need a frame. I am worried about the raw eggs however and may try another recipe next year because my young children really want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
We thought this was a wonderful recipe. We made cutouts for windows, and spread crushed candy canes inside them prior to baking. They melt into stained glass windows. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esmee Williams
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
A bit of work to prepare but so worth it. I have a cookie 'mold' that helps me make the shapes then I use a glue gun to put it together. Then the next day we decorate with candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
The recipe is tasty, however I have found that I needed to DOUBLE the flour to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
They were a bit too lemony for my taste, but husband loved them better than three other gingerbread recipes I tried. A great recipe. Thanks, Ruth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This could have been a 5 star. I agree with other's comments.. I had to add about 1 1/4 cup of flour for the dough to work properly. Once I had workable dough it was good from that point. I used another Royal Icing recipe (from this site)after reading others comments. I didn't want to chance that part. Cookie tasted great and my girls had a great time putting together our first gingerbread houses. (Had to make 2 so no fighting would happen) Will make again with adjustments to recipe. I know next time will be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
What a great recipe! I've never done gingerbread before, and it turned out great -- both tasty and a wonderful building material. I made houses, cookie cutter cookies, and freeform dough shapes (the letters of my honey's name, specifically). I followed other reviewers' advice and added quite a bit of flour, and wasn't shy with kneading more flour in prior to rolling. (In fact, the more flour that ended up in the dough as I kept rolling it out, the better it turned out.) I used Royal Icing I, which was okay, and I used a "kid-sized" elf house pattern for the building plans. Didn't use cardboard backing, either. I posted a photo of my cookies and the initial stages of our very-sloppy gingerbread houses in my Cook's Photos if anybody's curious. Just remember... we've never done this before!!! Next time I might trim my cookies before gluing them together for a better fit. Or I'll cut the dough straighter in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe tastes great! But use a form for the house since the cookies are very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
The gingerbread recipe itself is ok. I ended up having to add at least another cup of flower to make the dough workable. I would not suggest using the included icing recipe. It came out awful. It was impossible to work with and didn't stick very well to the gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States