Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Frosting for the "gluing" of the house, but particularly easy to work with, and held it together beautifully. The rest, of course, was yummy. Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe was pretty good. I definitely added extra flour, but not until I had refrigerated the dough for an hour. After finding the dough was still quite sticky, I kneaded in three quarter cups of flour. Otherwise it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a disappointment. The dough was too stretchy. Once I cut the pieces out, I could not tranfer them to the baking sheet as the pieces would stretch out of shape. So I had to roll out the dough directly on the sheet and cut the shape out there, thus being able to bake just one piece at a time. The icing is a mess. It is very thick and only wants to stick to itself, not to the gingerbread house. After using A LOT of it, we were able to get the house together but that much icing really detracts from the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
If you are hesitant to make an icing/glue with raw eggs in it, I suggest picking up some meringue powder (local craft stores usually carry it, and it can be bought online). To make royal icing with meringue powder, you use 3 TBS meringue powder, 1 pound sifted confectioners' sugar, and 4-5 TBS warm water... Mix 5-10 minutes until it forms peaks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Absolutely delicious gingerbread, though I omitted the lemon zest and juice and used mace and cinnamon in place of the allspice. I have my dough refridgerating right now, however I made a few drop cookies as testers and they were GONE in less than 2 minutes. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe was a lot of fun. Make sure you give yourself a few days to get it done. It doesn't pay to rush it. It also helps if you have a second pair of hands. The frosting is definitely as good as glue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaresMama
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This turned out so good and so fun for my kids. I made 2 batches for our 3 houses. The first batch I made exactly as written and it turned out perfect! The 2nd batch, I left out the baking powder and of course, it gave me a flatter cookie, but this way I did NOT have to trim the cookie after it came out of the oven, it was a little flatter and more crisp and I actually liked it a little better. Both were great,and my girls and I had a blast decorating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phaewryn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This review is for the ICING and assembly tips only, as I used a different recipe for the actual cookies (Gingerbread Men): This icing is easy to make and holds like GLUE! It's perfect, and hardens well enough to keep decorating in 2 hours (at least in my low humidity area). I'm so happy with how our first ever gingerbread house turned out that I'm submitting my pictures. I did not use any frame, I simply glued the cookies together as directed in this recipe, walls first, wait one hour til dry, then roof added, wait another hour or two, then decorate in two steps. I did make the cookies 3 days in advance, not because they needed to dry that long, just because I got busy and the house had to wait. It turned out great though! I plan to keep this icing recipe on hand for anytime I need an easy to use and very sturdy icing for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I really should have trimed the pieces after they cooked. I had the most crooked house in town. It was still cute but not as pretty as it could have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
its laking capasity leAVES MUCH OT BE DISIRED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States