Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very tasty but a little crumbly for a gingerbread house. Great eating though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I'm only rating the icing. I had a gingerbread house kit but no icing. I used your recipe. This was the easiest icing. I made 2 versions. Thick for gluing on the candies and the holding the house together and a thinner version to paint on the base and walls, as this one started to dry in the bag and get thicker I also used it for ice cicles. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This dough is delicious and wonderful for gingerbread cookies, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Tasted horrible but held up great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
very fun. I use this recipe for my gingerbread molds every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennaPlum
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Overall, this is a good recipe. I've used this recipe 2 years in a row, but I'm not totally satisfied with it. I always omit the baking soda/powder to prevent the pieces from expanding and changing shapes. I still get some bubbling though. I'm still on the lookout for a better, more structurely sound recipe to build the large detailed "houses" that my husband and I have made a tradition in our home. I have never followed these directions for the house, so I cannot comment on them. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaPlum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WorldRoamer
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe worked great! My brother and I decided to construct not just a gingerbread house, but a gingerbread skyscraper! Check out the picture on my profile - I was pretty impressed with our very first attempt at gingerbread construction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorldRoamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This is an easy and fun recipe. I don't consider myself a cook at all, but I did enjoy this recipe and my children had so much fun making this house. They are only 6 so the house came out like it came out, but they are currently tearing it apart now that Christmas is over and eating it. The gingerbread is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
The gingerbread itself is tasty but was very very sticky to have to try and roll out I had to add more flour to it. Im not sure what is with the icing recipe but the one that is listed there is not a good one. It doesnt work. I used a different royal icing recipe from this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sujatha
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was my first gingerbread house and turned out great. My daughter was so happy to decorate it. and she told at least 100 thanks. As other reviewers told, I also added 1 more cup of flour to get the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States