Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
great recipe! i didnt need much extra flour, and i tried rly hard to get this done in one day since thats all i had. i did but i used extra structural support. my hockey team loved it, and some of my coaches couldnt stop eating it hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twiggyshell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
not spicy enough for my taste and the walls weren't sturdy enough even with the extra flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Used as a 'building' activity for Destination ImagiNation (1st graders). They learned a lot. Even the girl that doesn't like gingerbread ate a piece afterwards! I made a batch and a half (which made two sheets), and I used Watkins' Lemon Extract instead of lemon zest (thumbs way up on taste!) The team & I learned that fresh gingerbread is too crumbly - you DO need to wait more than one hour after baking to assemble:). But, my aim was also to have them cooperate and figure out a way to cut their own shapes without wasting much gingerbread - mission accomplished. And the other teams were very excited to eat our leftovers. Definitely will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was perfect with the addition of another cup of flour. I made two small gingerbread houses and a dozen gingerbread men with this recipe and just baked the house parts longer. Very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakingfanatic
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The ginger bread came out a little lighter than I expected, but over all it was a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I cooked it about 13-14 minutes and it worked better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This review is only for the cookie, not the icing, because we made this last night on a complete whim and didn't have enough eggs for the icing. The cookie aspect of this recipe is nice. It tasted pretty good, but ours came out a little too soft for good construction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bburkhalter01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I did have to add more flour like others have commented, but it tastes great and works well for construction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriAnne Parks
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Good recipe; held together well. The royal icing recipe is very strong mortar and couldn't be more simple to make. We crumbled butterscotch candies and filled the window openings prior to cooking; this made very realistic looking windows. For high altitude cooking--increase baking time by at least 4 minutes and for the icing; it was 3 egg whites to 5 cups of powdered sugar. Please see uploaded photo/girl with blue shirt on right side of photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
these are soo cool i love them all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States