Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
great recipe! i didnt need much extra flour, and i tried rly hard to get this done in one day since thats all i had. i did but i used extra structural support. my hockey team loved it, and some of my coaches couldnt stop eating it hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twiggyshell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
not spicy enough for my taste and the walls weren't sturdy enough even with the extra flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Used as a 'building' activity for Destination ImagiNation (1st graders). They learned a lot. Even the girl that doesn't like gingerbread ate a piece afterwards! I made a batch and a half (which made two sheets), and I used Watkins' Lemon Extract instead of lemon zest (thumbs way up on taste!) The team & I learned that fresh gingerbread is too crumbly - you DO need to wait more than one hour after baking to assemble:). But, my aim was also to have them cooperate and figure out a way to cut their own shapes without wasting much gingerbread - mission accomplished. And the other teams were very excited to eat our leftovers. Definitely will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was perfect with the addition of another cup of flour. I made two small gingerbread houses and a dozen gingerbread men with this recipe and just baked the house parts longer. Very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakingfanatic
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The ginger bread came out a little lighter than I expected, but over all it was a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I cooked it about 13-14 minutes and it worked better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This review is only for the cookie, not the icing, because we made this last night on a complete whim and didn't have enough eggs for the icing. The cookie aspect of this recipe is nice. It tasted pretty good, but ours came out a little too soft for good construction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bburkhalter01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I did have to add more flour like others have commented, but it tastes great and works well for construction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriAnne Parks
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Good recipe; held together well. The royal icing recipe is very strong mortar and couldn't be more simple to make. We crumbled butterscotch candies and filled the window openings prior to cooking; this made very realistic looking windows. For high altitude cooking--increase baking time by at least 4 minutes and for the icing; it was 3 egg whites to 5 cups of powdered sugar. Please see uploaded photo/girl with blue shirt on right side of photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
these are soo cool i love them all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States