Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Make the side walls taller so your roof has support along the entire edge. As written support is only on the gable ends. Our roof started sliding. Added more flour as others did also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I found the dough to be impossible to shape and cut before baking, and ended up cutting after it came out of the oven. It did make a great gingerbread house, although the part we ate I thought was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Best flavor gingerbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very flavorful for a gingerbread man; but I do not recommend it for a gingerbread house. The dough was very sticky and difficult to roll so we added almost an additional cup of flour. The cookies rise unevenly, therefore the house pieces were not flat and unsuitable for construction. We made 4 batches of this dough for a class project before we changed to a food network recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I like this recipe because it is well explained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I am so glad I found this recipe! I don't believe Christmas comes in a box and that's what I resorted to after a few failed attempts at the perfect ginger bread house. Everything worked out great, thank you for a recipe that I can pass down to my children...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LalaBeansMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to for this recipe. I made this on Christmas Eve, following the directions exactly and it was a complete success. The gingerbread tasted great, and the kids had so much fun decorating it. The only problem I had was that the butter was too soft when I added it, so the dough did not firm up enough to cut even after refrigeration. I solved this by rolling the dough on the cookie sheet and cutting just after I took it out of the oven. All dimensions were perfect and assembly was so easy. THANK YOU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a lot of fun making the gingerbread & putting the house together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was a fabulous experience for myself and two children to enjoy. Here we were in Australia with a temperature in the low 40s C and we were making little cottages with pretend snow adornments. Finding the molasses took days then we were away. The recipe was followed to the letter and it worked out perfectly for us first timers. We did frame the houses, we made two, in the heat the construction and decoration just followed on as it all dried so quickly. Thank you for sharing this recipe and we are planning to make it each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful flavour! The texture is great as well. We are still nibbling from the house, and it it two weeks old. I found that I needed to add flour, but as with all recipes, each kitchen needs to adjust the ingredients to their own needs. We really loved it. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States