Children's Gingerbread House Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
It was excellent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brownie!
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Worked out great. Walls warped a bit while cooking but I don't think that can be helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bistace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ryley, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ciara_G
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for a Kris Kringle present just before Christmas and it turned out great. I should say that I live in rented accomodation with a poorly stocked kitchen so while baking it had no weighing scales, no sieve, no electric whisk (no whisk of any kind actually - I used a fork), no rolling pin, no baking trays (used a silcone baking sheet), only one shelf in the oven, no wire rack to cool it on and no cake board. So I made an educated guess as to the amounts, smoothed it out by patting tinfoil over it, and improvised a cake board with a piece of thick cardboard and more tinfoil. I went out and bought an icing syringe, which for €2.50 did the job of decorating nicely. Despite the lack of normal kitchen implements this recipe still turned out great so I couldn't give it anything less than 5 stars :-) Oh, like other reviewers I did use almost twice as much flour as the recipe called for so that is one little alteration. I've made the recipe again since using the specified amount of flour though, and it worked too. The spice came through stronger which was nice. And I found that if you have biscuit molds the dough holds the shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I've never been a fan of gingerbread. I never really cared for the taste or texture. This was a wonderful recipe in its own right, but I needed to add another cup of flour for the right consistency. I'm rating it 4 stars BEFORE my adding the extra cup of flour. Very flavorful and enjoyable to work with and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The cookies tasted great but I had to add about 2 cups of flour to this recipe to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by italiamamano2010
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made 5 gingerbread houses this year from scratch following this recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups more flour as other reviews suggested. The gingerbread is amazing (and I'm not a big gingerbread fan) It was easy to construct the houses. My kids all had a ton of fun decorating them. I will use this recipe for years to come. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvalee
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is a great basic recipe. Our family had a blast making and decorating our houses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I, also, had to knead in at least another cup of flour to get a workable dough, but once it was workable the rest went smoothly. I used a different recipe for the frosting to avoid the raw eggs: 1 cup powdered sugar to 1 and 1/2 tablespoons milk, made as needed. I put it in a bag and cut the corner off to prevent it from drying out while I worked with it and so I could squeeze it out onto the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Way too STICKY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Padudu
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a very easy recipe (very basic ingredients) to put together and follow. I cut out the cardboard pieces using approx. the same dimensions (made the pitch of the roof more steep though) Once the dough was rolled out, just placed my 'templates' on the dough, traced and cut. I rolled all the dough out on separate parchment paper which made it easy to transfer to the baking sheet without 'skewing' the 'walls'. I cut out windows, before baking and added crushed candy cane which melted into our 'window glass'. I let the pieces harden overnight before starting assembly. Instead of using the icing recipe here, I used two tubs of ready-made chocolate icing and added 1 16 oz package of confectioners sugar which made a very stiff 'glue'. I assembled the walls as directed, then covered them in the icing, I 'lined' the walls to make it look like logs. I then added the roof. I used Hersheys Cookies n Creme bars to make 'shutters', Kit Kat for the front door, I halved Reeses Peanut Butter cups to make 'flower boxes, Snickers sliced in thin pieces for a 'rock' foundation, and Chocolate Frosted Mini Wheats for the roof 'shingles'. Super fun project! Great recipe, husband and kids loved the flavor of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Padudu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Locust Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States