Child-Proof Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
These cookies have great flavor, but it is a terrible recipe for children. The dough was so crumbly that I had to distract my 4 year old so I could roll out and cut the cookies myself. They just wouldn't stay together. When I made them the second time, I doubled the recipe and the dough stayed together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shary Norton Tutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made these cookies with my two grand daughters ages 3 and 4, and we had a blast! This was very easy to do with little girls. They beg to make more everytime they come to visit! We made so many, we were giving them to everyone. We sent some home to their house, we took some to church for our Pastor and his family, and their Sunday School Teacher and her family, and of course some were left for Meme and Papa! The fun we had was ENDLESS! We even sent this recipe to school since they get to cook every Friday, their teacher was thrilled to get this recipe. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe and the many hours of fun my two precious granddaughters and I shared together. Now we're on a major search everywhere we go for cookie cutters....just can't seem to find them anymore. Again, thank you and GOD BLESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Well, your little ones may find this recipe very easy, but all I have on my counter is what I can only describe as, a big bowl of beach sand. A bunch of 4 year-olds can make wonderful cookies, but me as a 47 year-old cannot. What did I do wrong??? All my ingredients were fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This was the worst recipe! I find it hard to believe the kindergartners were successful with it. We struggled greatly with this overly dry dough, that had essentially no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This was a really good recipe. I,ve never tried cutout cookies till now. I don't think I could have found an easier recipe. They have a delicate almond flavor. Really good cookies! My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
We made three doughs from this site for our holiday cookies. Since we my apprentices were 4 and 6 I thought this would be great. It was the worst dough of the bunch. It was so dry the children got frustrated and gave up on it. I had to add water to the dough to try to get it to be useable at all. It does NOT live up to it's name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I thought this was a good tasting recipe, my family really enjoyed them. I found no real problem with the dough, except that I really had to work it with my hands before rolling it out, or else it would be really unmanageable. The heat of my hands helped soften & heat the shortening. These cookies are going to become a holiday tradition in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Was there something missing in this recipe? The dough was so dry and crumbly we couldn't do anything with it. We had to ditch it and start over with another recipe. A big disappointment to both my daughter and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I used this recipe with my kids at summer camp. It was perfect. Very easy to work with. We also converted them into chocolate chip cookies. The sugar cookies even made in to the musical at the end of camp. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
I had 16 10year old girl scouts last night, we made these cut out cookies for a project and they turned out fabualous!!!! thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States