Chilaquiles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
this was excellent! we fried about a half a package of tortillas separately until golden brown and put them aside. Then I cooked chorizo separately and put that aside. Then sauteed tomatoes, onions, minced garlic and serrano peppers and then added the eggs until cooked through. Then, we layered everything on our plates, tortillas, chorizo, eggs, cojita cheese, and crema fresca, and topped everything off with red enchilada sauce (hot). This was soo delicious and totally authentic and the tortillas stayed crispy because we didn't cook them with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
What a great recipe for shaking up the breakfast routine in our home. This was very good. That it was quick and easy to prepare with ingredients I always have on hand made it very appealing. My changes included reducing the chile peppers to just one because I was feeding teens, but they suggested amping it up a bit so I'll use 2 next time. I also added pico di gallo at the end to add additional moisture to the dish because this is how we remembered it being served in restaurants. Thank you VCMARTINEZ for sharing your wonderful recipe that made for a very yummy breakfast and will be made again and again in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I love this! Minor changes: I used white corn tortillas (all I had) and roasted the serranos (I was in the middle of making salsa) and of course seeded those :). When it comes to latin food, I seem to squirt lemons all the time and use green pepper sauce. That's just me though. I will keep this for sure! Nice change of pace and maybe next time try it with chorizo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was good. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh. I didn't care much for the taste of the cooking oil. Maybe I will try lard next time. I used a Hatch chile pepper from my freezer. This seemed a bit bland though and needs some seasoning. I scrambled the egg, but I think I will try it over easy the next time. I liked the crunchy bits of corn tortilla best. Thanks, I enjoyed this breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Easier version. Use salsa verde. A Mexican salsa made with tomatillos. poor over chips and add fried egg on top. ususally served with a shredded white cheese and crema fresa. (or sour cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good! Needed a little seasoning was all! I halved the recipe and served them in flour tortillas with some hot sauce and we thought it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Good in its own way (& with salt & pepper added), but I really wanted it saucier - perhaps adding some red enchilada sauce would've satisfied. To reduce the very high cholesterol, I used 2 whole eggs & the rest were egg whites. By the way, folks, however crispy you get the corn tortilla pieces to be, they WILL become soggy again, as to be expected in chilaquiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I was very happy with this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and it was excellent! My fiance is mexican and when I gave him this for breakfast, he said it was better than what he was used to! Thank you for this recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Canedo - GO STEELERS!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Much better then your basic scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metzstar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Delicious! We used stale tortilla chips rather than frying tortillas, and added them right at the end just before the eggs were fully cooked. No cheese needed--this is tasty as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States