Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
After making this cake, I split it into 3 layers, filling it with an almond custard filling made with almond paste and white chocolate. I also left out the lemon flavoring and used almond extract. I frosted it with buttercream frosting with a dollop of cream cheese and left over filling mixed in. It was fabulous and looked gorgeous. Everyone loved it and there were no leftovers. The cake itself was delicious with a perfect crumb texture. It had no eggy taste. I sifted the cake flour first and then sifted it again with the other dry ingredients. I will definitely make this cake again. The flavor possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I am thrilled to find this recipe. I have the page from my Nonnie's cookbook and it has a heading, "First new cake in a hundred years. CAKES Chiffon." My Grandma made this recipe for every birthday. It is the best cake ever. She had a special pan that she made this recipe in. It is oblong and deep. Nonny would cut this into about 6 layers,putting butter cream frosting between layers and around the entire cake. She also added grated chocolate to the cake batter and the frosting. Her recipe for the cake, suggests adding an extra 1/4 C sugar with 3oz. of sweet chocolate or 8 sq. of unsweetened chocolate, while omitting the lemon flavor. It is the most moist cake and deliciously light at the same time. She used a butter cream frosting for this cake for the outside also. I hope you will try this for your family's birthdays too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
the cake was moist but dense .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Used this recipie to make cupcakes, they were like cloud fluff, sooo light and fluffy. Put temp at 160 and took 18mins to cook. Will definitely be using it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Usually, I have trouble making chiffon cakes, but this recipe was super easy. I made two 9" round cakes, and although they did end up falling, they turned out wonderfully moist and airy, not heavy at all. I followed previous reviews and left the oven at 325, and the cakes in for about 35 minutes. I did not have cake flour on hand, so I substituted 2 cups of AP flour, minus 4 tbsp, and added 4 tbsp of cornstarch. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mononoke321
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have been baking cakes for ten years now and I feel like this is my favorite cake recipe of all time. I have used it twice now for cupcakes and they are fabulous! My family lovevs the egg flavor and the lightness of the cake. It is light and spongecake-like. I made it with a peanut butter frosting and also with a caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mononoke321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I have tried a couple of Chiffon cake recipes and found this one easiest and the cake is great. If you have a stand mixer, try to beat egg whites with it while you whisk your egg yolks and flour in another bowl. You do not need to beat the mixture (of yolks, oil, ...) as called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericwongjh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made this cake for my grandmas 95th birthday party with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped cream, the cake was gone, it was so delicious. Reminded me of the Phoenix Chinese Bakerry in downtown LA...this will made many times for birthday cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
WOW! This cake is amazing. I bake fairly often but cakes are not a strength of mine. This cake was so simple to prepare that i honestly thought that i forgot to do something. I used almond extract instead of lemon and i didn't have cream of tartar so i used vinegar instead. When it came out of the oven it looked perfect and it did not fall at all. The cake was so super light fluffy and the taste is great (not at all eggy). I used a cream cheese frosting, per family requests, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have never written a review before for anything but after making this cake I felt compelled to do so. This was absolutely the most delicious cake I have ever made! I bake quite a bit and have made many types of cakes before and this one is by far my favorite! It was so light and fluffy with the perfect amount of sweetness to it. I am not one for eating super sugary desserts often because it makes my stomach feel heavy and afterward I feel just sloth like. But this made my stomach feel full and light. Kind of like the way Japanese or Korean food makes me feel after I eat it. The consistancy is like a pancake and a super light cupcake mixed into one. I used espresso instead of water and I substituted the lemon for rum. I also used an espresso chocolate mousse instead of the frosting. It was to die for. The cake didn't last two days. I even put it in the freezer over night because the mousse started to melt and with the frozen mousse, that taseted like chocolate ice cream in the morning, and the cake, that was amazing cold, OMG! Crazy good! This recipe will be with me for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States