Chickpea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I'm new at this. Very easy recipe. It was excellent, delicious, amazing. Best soup of the 4-5 I've made in the past month. Instead of 4 cups water, I used 2.25 cups of fat free chix broth, 1 cup of water, instead of parsley I used cilantro, I did not use red pepper, used 0.5 of a bell pepper and 0.5 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Four Stars but you have to modify the hearty basic recipe if you want robust flavor, too. I read a few reviews and made my version (this rendition, at least) by adding diced tomatoes, shredded red cabbage, pre-cooked pasta (left over linguini cut to 1 to 2 inch lengths), chopped hot peppers and replaced vegetable broth for water. Next time, I am going to use frozen cut okra and rice. After that maybe I'll add canned black beans (drained and rinsed) and extra cayenne for a south-of-the-border version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added diced potatoes, frozen corn and celery. Will be making lots more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
A1 easy recipe, and easy to customize. We didnt have half the ingredients, but it still worked with substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taste of Heaven
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I found the original recipe lacking. I followed some of the review suggestions...added veggie stock, corn, spinach and salt. Yummy. I also added the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband loves this soup and he is a really picky eater, so yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was generous with the olive oil, didn't have a green pepper so I added more mushrooms, amped up the herbs.. it needed it. Also, use any kind of broth instead of water, no tomato sauce in the house..I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.. simmer for 1/2 hour.. for a finale I squeezed some lemon juice in.. gave it an incredible tang and north african flare! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
my Grandma and boyfriend both loved this recipe! I added a bunch of spinach, a can of corn, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also added a little sea salt. Deeeeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe is excellent if you use 3 cups of water with 3 (Maggi)vegetable bouillon cubes instead of plain water as the recipe calls for. I also added 1 pkg of frozen spinach & about 6 to 7 cloves of garlic instead of just 1. I also used 1 1/2 cans of tomato sauce. These changes give it wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States