Chickpea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I'm new at this. Very easy recipe. It was excellent, delicious, amazing. Best soup of the 4-5 I've made in the past month. Instead of 4 cups water, I used 2.25 cups of fat free chix broth, 1 cup of water, instead of parsley I used cilantro, I did not use red pepper, used 0.5 of a bell pepper and 0.5 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Four Stars but you have to modify the hearty basic recipe if you want robust flavor, too. I read a few reviews and made my version (this rendition, at least) by adding diced tomatoes, shredded red cabbage, pre-cooked pasta (left over linguini cut to 1 to 2 inch lengths), chopped hot peppers and replaced vegetable broth for water. Next time, I am going to use frozen cut okra and rice. After that maybe I'll add canned black beans (drained and rinsed) and extra cayenne for a south-of-the-border version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added diced potatoes, frozen corn and celery. Will be making lots more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
A1 easy recipe, and easy to customize. We didnt have half the ingredients, but it still worked with substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taste of Heaven
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I found the original recipe lacking. I followed some of the review suggestions...added veggie stock, corn, spinach and salt. Yummy. I also added the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband loves this soup and he is a really picky eater, so yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was generous with the olive oil, didn't have a green pepper so I added more mushrooms, amped up the herbs.. it needed it. Also, use any kind of broth instead of water, no tomato sauce in the house..I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.. simmer for 1/2 hour.. for a finale I squeezed some lemon juice in.. gave it an incredible tang and north african flare! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
my Grandma and boyfriend both loved this recipe! I added a bunch of spinach, a can of corn, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also added a little sea salt. Deeeeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe is excellent if you use 3 cups of water with 3 (Maggi)vegetable bouillon cubes instead of plain water as the recipe calls for. I also added 1 pkg of frozen spinach & about 6 to 7 cloves of garlic instead of just 1. I also used 1 1/2 cans of tomato sauce. These changes give it wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Be Prepared Five-Bean Soup Mix

With this dry bean mix made in advance, soup’s ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States