Chickpea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was very tasty, and quick and easy to make. For me personally, I prefer thicker soups. We really enjoyed the flavor, butIi think next time I will probably puree some of the veggies and chickpeas to thicken it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I'm new at this. Very easy recipe. It was excellent, delicious, amazing. Best soup of the 4-5 I've made in the past month. Instead of 4 cups water, I used 2.25 cups of fat free chix broth, 1 cup of water, instead of parsley I used cilantro, I did not use red pepper, used 0.5 of a bell pepper and 0.5 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Four Stars but you have to modify the hearty basic recipe if you want robust flavor, too. I read a few reviews and made my version (this rendition, at least) by adding diced tomatoes, shredded red cabbage, pre-cooked pasta (left over linguini cut to 1 to 2 inch lengths), chopped hot peppers and replaced vegetable broth for water. Next time, I am going to use frozen cut okra and rice. After that maybe I'll add canned black beans (drained and rinsed) and extra cayenne for a south-of-the-border version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Awesome recipe! I added diced potatoes, frozen corn and celery. Will be making lots more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
A1 easy recipe, and easy to customize. We didnt have half the ingredients, but it still worked with substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taste of Heaven
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I found the original recipe lacking. I followed some of the review suggestions...added veggie stock, corn, spinach and salt. Yummy. I also added the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband loves this soup and he is a really picky eater, so yeah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I was generous with the olive oil, didn't have a green pepper so I added more mushrooms, amped up the herbs.. it needed it. Also, use any kind of broth instead of water, no tomato sauce in the house..I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.. simmer for 1/2 hour.. for a finale I squeezed some lemon juice in.. gave it an incredible tang and north african flare! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
my Grandma and boyfriend both loved this recipe! I added a bunch of spinach, a can of corn, and a can of diced tomatoes. I also added a little sea salt. Deeeeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States