Chickpea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Have you tried this recipe? What did you think? I just loved it. Easy, tasty and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used beef broth instead and loved it!! My husband said it was hardy and to make it again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
There was something a little funky about it. I very much liked the sweet potato, corn and garbanzo combination... but the tomatoes and green beans and peas were off. If I make it again, I'll leave those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Raton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I chose this recipe because I had 2 big sweet potatoes with no idea what to do with them. I used canned (rinsed) chick peas a can of mixed veggies (rinsed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Yum! I made this as is and it was good. I used homeade broth - you probably need a good quality broth for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Let me start off with I mainly used this recipe as a base, and I left some things out that I didn't have and added things I did. I used about 4 small cloves of garlic. I didn't have bay leaf or paprika but I did use fresh thyme and I also added rosemary and about 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I didn't have onions or sweet potatoes so I added one carrot chopped. Instead of a fresh tomato I used a can of organic diced tomatoes seasoned with garlic, basil and oregano. I also used 4c of vegetable broth and about 1/2c of water. The flavor was wonderful and next time I will make sure I have sweet potatoes and onion because I think that will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy476

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was very bland. I was expecting so much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe!! I'm giving it 5 stars even though I added chicken (my husband is a carnivore). Delicious and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Good, but I think it could be better with a few changes in cooking techniques. Next time I will begin by cooking only the sweet potatoe in the oil then remove and set aside. Then add a bit more oil to the pot and cook the onion. Next, follow step two but also add the frozen vegetables and 1 14oz can of chopped tomatoes (in place of the fresh tomatoe). Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for an hour covered. Return the sweet potatoe and add the chickpeas. Simmer an additional 15 to 20 minutes or until sweet potatoes are soft. I know this sort of defeats the point of having something quickly but cooking longer helps the flavors blend. Feel free to adjust the amount of broth. Since I had almost 4 c. of sweet potatoe once chopped, I used three cans of broth and kept all the other measurements the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States