Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This is a nice, quick, healthy cold salad, but the amount of vinegar that is called for is entirely too much. I think that cutting it half would provide plenty of flavor without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made this salad for our Mother's Day lunch and it was great. I made a few adjustments: 2 cans of garbanzo beans, seeded & chopped 1 samll cucumber, seeded & chopped 1 tomatoe, added 1 Tbsp dried minced onion, 1 tsp minced garllic, 2 ribs celery diced, 1/2 red bell pepper chopped, 1 tsp dried parsley, some fresh ground black pepper and I used bottled low fat Balsamic Vinagrette salad dressing. It was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Nice side dish. I combined balsamic and red wine vinegar to equal 1/4 cup combined. This was plenty. I also added a splash of olive oil. Thank you for a healthy, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I'm sorry to say but this recipe was a disaster and a blatant waste of food. How anyone can ingest the amount of vinegar this recipe calls for is beyond me. Maybe the amounts for the vinegar should be 1/2 T. and NOT 1/2 cup. This recipe was so easy and fast that it was made before I realized how much vinegar the recipe called for--it was disgusting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Very good "outline". Must cut vinegar 'to taste' OR substitute fresh lemon or lime juice. MUST add minced onion, garlic and parsley. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This is a DELICIOUS recipe that can be made in less than 10 min, which is a plus for people on the go! I just recommend that you cut the amount of vinegar in HALF. Enjoy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe with these changes: 15 oz chickpeas, 1/2 red onion, chopped small, 1/2 cucumber, chopped small, 1 tomato, chopped small, 2 Tbs red wine vinegar, 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar pinch of sugar & garlic powder, salt and pepper. Serve with slotted spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Easy to make, easy to eat. Big hit with the folks who watch fat, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I really liked this salad, though I did make some changes. I used 1/2 of a green bell pepper in place of the cucumber, and I added garlic powder, salt, pepper, and coriander. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, a splash of white vinegar, and some olive oil. I also added just a little granulated sugar. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Tasty. I also cut the vinegars in half and next time I might even cut it down to 1/4 cup combined as the other reviewer recommended. Very quick and inexpensive to make and yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States