Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very tasty and surprisingly filling. Definitely way too much vinegar- I cut down as recommended- still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Verona, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I also added green pepper and some extra lemon juice. Very fresh, great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JROBERTS1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I made this salad for our Mother's Day lunch and it was great. I made a few adjustments: 2 cans of garbanzo beans, seeded & chopped 1 samll cucumber, seeded & chopped 1 tomatoe, added 1 Tbsp dried minced onion, 1 tsp minced garllic, 2 ribs celery diced, 1/2 red bell pepper chopped, 1 tsp dried parsley, some fresh ground black pepper and I used bottled low fat Balsamic Vinagrette salad dressing. It was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I changed some of the ingredients around, what an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHoughton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Great with a little olive oil, parm and double veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I really liked this salad, though I did make some changes. I used 1/2 of a green bell pepper in place of the cucumber, and I added garlic powder, salt, pepper, and coriander. I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar, a splash of white vinegar, and some olive oil. I also added just a little granulated sugar. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
this is a great combo for a quick, tasty salad... my very successful variation- using red wine vinagrette and balsamic vinagrette- about 1/4 cup total- instead of tomatoes- shredded carrot... and adding cumin, garlic powder and dill... yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Needs something....pepper, salt.I don't know but lacked in flavor. Wasn't bad, but needs to be tweeked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This need livening up a bit while reducing the vinegar. I use my own vinaigrette dressing, coriander (cilantro), mint and flat leaf parsley. I also include a small deseeded red chilli, a red onion, and some peeled diced cucumber. It always disappears at barbecues and buffets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I use this just as a starting point. It's the right idea, though I change it to include just 1/4 cup-ish of balsamic, plus tomato, red onion, and fresh cilantro. Could add things like peppers, etc. Done like this, it even works as a salsa with nacho chips, which is how I served it at a Christmas party last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States