Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made it exactly as written except I put in a whole cucumber, oh well I also didn't have quite a whole 1/2 Cup Balsamic but.... Many people said they didn't care for it or cut back the vinegar but we loved it. I tasted it after it had marinaded about and hour and said this is great, husband tasted it said yes it's good but I think it needs more vinegar - he was serious, my son also said it wasn't vinegary enough. Also in this meal we had wilted spinach served with hard boiled egg and vinegar... :) I guess we are just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I picked this recipe because I wanted something easy for some chic peas that I cooked the day before. I agree, I would never use this much vinegar. I sprinkled with extra virgin Olive oil and about 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. I prefer the mild taste. I added some pepper, a little oregano and garlic powder, a little Italian twist never hurt anyone. WaLa...My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is a great base for an easy, healthy salad. As with other reviewers, I feel that the amount of vinegar indicated is far too much. (And I LOVE vinegar!) I went with 1/3 cup each balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar, and even that was too strong. I'll definitely make this recipe again, but will add other items as I have them (red or green peppers, additional spices, etc.) and will reduce the amount of vinegar significantly. I recommend using red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I thought this recipe called for too much vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Too much vinegar and balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good, I would mix the vinegar separate from the rest so you can add what you think is enough. I just did 1/4 cup of each, and didn't even put the whole amount on there...it was plenty. I also added some celery. It is a nice refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
way way way too much vinegar. I would cut down vinegar to a few tablespoons and add olive oil if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYOHAZARD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is really good--even my 2 yr old was begging for my bites! I agree that as written there would be WAY too much vinegar. I took the advice of another to use equal parts red wine vinegar and balsamic totaling 1/4 c which was still more than sufficient. Next time I'll try adding some feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great recipe with these changes: 15 oz chickpeas, 1/2 red onion, chopped small, 1/2 cucumber, chopped small, 1 tomato, chopped small, 2 Tbs red wine vinegar, 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar pinch of sugar & garlic powder, salt and pepper. Serve with slotted spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Hubby and I both loved this! I made some changes: 1/2 chopped green pepper instead of the cucumber, no onion (I don't like raw onion), small tomato's worth of sliced grape tomatoes, only a 1/4 c. of red wine vinegar and 1 t. sugar (1 T red wine vinegar + 1/2 t. sugar substitutes for balsamic vinegar, which hubby is allergic to - so for those who are not allergic to balsamic, this is equivalent to 2 T. red wine vinegar and 2 T. balsamic vinegar). I added in a dash of coriander, garlic powder, salt, and pepper per another reviewer's suggestion. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States