Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Soooo good! I made some alterations that really made this an addictive salad. I used cilantro instead of parsley, added 2 tbsp of balsamic, used white onion instead of red, organic red plum tomatoes, and to go with it I made a very easy Salsa! The salsa is just a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, throw that in the blender with some cilantro and half an onion, some salt, sugar, and a tbsp of balsamic and you got yourself an amazing topping for this salad! --Goes great in a burrito too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Delicious! I cut the oil to 1 tbsp and, like other reviewers, added 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar. The result was excellent! The fresh parsley really makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Pretty good, although I hate to say there is just a little too much garlic, which I never say. I had no parsley but added some dried basil. I will see how I feel tomorrow after it chills longer. Edited to add, that I ate one more time and haven't touched it since. What a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Chirs likes it, normaly if its not hummus Chris will not eat a chickpea. Yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shavounaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ninnekah, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
SO YUMMY! Love salads like this, quick and healthy. Did not add the onions as we don't care as much for raw onion, did add some orange pepper and used whole grape tomatoes. I added equal parts of fresh lemon juice and olive oil, as I typically change my dressing ratios in terms of the oil/vinegar components. Really fresh tasting, looking forward to leftovers tomorrow for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
With some additions. >2 tbsp balsamic vinegar >1/2 c crumbled feta >1/4 c diced black olives >only 1/4 c of parsley >sprinkle of salt-free lemon pepper >remove the salt This may make it a completely different recipe but since I used this as a base I thought I would share my alterations. Cheers, Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was quite good. Added some fresh cilantro since I had some on hand. Served this as a first course with mulligatawny soup. Put it in a lightly toasted pita pocket with a little sour cream. Just edited this to bump it up to 5 stars. After a few days in the fridge it just keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Love this recipe too. Make it all the time. Keeps in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was really good! I didn't have any red onion on hand so just used white, but the red would really make for great color. I also added half of a chopped and seeded cucumber and a couple splashes of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I enjoyed this with all suggested ingredients as well as feta and oregano. YUM! (like a variation on greek salad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States