Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is a great base to add to, but by itself it seemed a bit lacking. I added some balsamic vinegar and pepper to taste and some chopped kalamari olives for a little more flavor as well as some cubed cucumber to fill it out a bit. Fresh and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Added more color to the salad by throwing in chopped celery and feta cheese, absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was pretty good, especially considering how quick it is to throw together, and I liked that it only made a small amount to try it. Chickpeas/garbanzo beans only come in 16oz cans, so I just used that and it was also low-sodium and worked fine. The only thing I left out was the pepper, because I don't care for it, and we ate it right after it was made. I tasted what was left the next day and I actually preferred it fresh anyhow. With all the garlic and parsley the smell and taste gets too strong, in my opinion, when it sits. So, it did work good for a salad in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I cut out the olive oil and put in some cayenne pepper...absolutely delicious, very filling meal and low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A very pretty salad, made it exactly as written and I loved the combination of flavors. Served in individual lettuce "boats". Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this super quick & easy recipe over & over again.Just love chickpeas!Instead of canned beans,I always boil the hard chickpeas till cooked as this taste a lot better and u can cook them in a big batch,and store in the fridge for future use.For this recipe,I used 2 cups of cooked beans and added extra lemon juice. I sometimes add a handful of fresh chopped mint and a 1/4 green bell peppers,diced just for variation.This salad is very filling and yes,it looks pretty & appetizing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplerose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
i added vinegar (same amount as lemon juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! I added chopped spinach as suggested by someone else. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very easy and delicious! I used cilantro instead of parsley (thats all i had) and little less olive oil. It turned out great. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
a staple in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States