Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this super quick & easy recipe over & over again.Just love chickpeas!Instead of canned beans,I always boil the hard chickpeas till cooked as this taste a lot better and u can cook them in a big batch,and store in the fridge for future use.For this recipe,I used 2 cups of cooked beans and added extra lemon juice. I sometimes add a handful of fresh chopped mint and a 1/4 green bell peppers,diced just for variation.This salad is very filling and yes,it looks pretty & appetizing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplerose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
i added vinegar (same amount as lemon juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! I added chopped spinach as suggested by someone else. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very easy and delicious! I used cilantro instead of parsley (thats all i had) and little less olive oil. It turned out great. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
a staple in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a hit on Christmas! I wanted to use raw, dried chickpeas like some suggested but I didn't have the time to soak and cook them so I had to settle for canned. They were still very good! Based on other reviews I added fresh cilantro with the fresh parsley and drizzled balsamic vinegar thoroughly. I would have given it a full 5 stars but I know it would have been too plain without the added balsamic vinegar (I tasted it before adding it) and fresh cilantro. I think those two should be added to the recipe's ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ira
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Love it, its my favorite way to eat chickpeas. Makes a great side dish of main meal with some diced grilled chicken. I add 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a nice light salad for snack or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Super yummy. I used organic ingredients where I could and a handful of Romanita tomatoes that I quartered. I did add three tbsp. of quality balsamic and instead of parsley, I added fresh strips of basil. DUDE, I about licked the bowl, it was so awesome. Noone liked it but me, but I ain't sharing. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I just saw your salad and had to try it. I've just finished making it. I used a little more onion and added a half a reb bell pepper to it and a pinch of dried dill. I had to use the dry parsley though. It tastes great even before the cooling part. I love to vary a lot when I try things but i'm sure the dill will add a little zest to it. I added a few chopped marinated italian mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States