Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Anissa
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Added a touch of Balsamic Vinegar and served it topped with some fresh grated parmesan cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Fairly bland, but I like that it's very healthy and nutritious. I added a cucumber for some additional volume and flavor. I will also be adding some vinegar to give it a bit more flavor, but overall it was tastey. LOVE garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe is a great base to add to, but by itself it seemed a bit lacking. I added some balsamic vinegar and pepper to taste and some chopped kalamari olives for a little more flavor as well as some cubed cucumber to fill it out a bit. Fresh and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Added more color to the salad by throwing in chopped celery and feta cheese, absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was pretty good, especially considering how quick it is to throw together, and I liked that it only made a small amount to try it. Chickpeas/garbanzo beans only come in 16oz cans, so I just used that and it was also low-sodium and worked fine. The only thing I left out was the pepper, because I don't care for it, and we ate it right after it was made. I tasted what was left the next day and I actually preferred it fresh anyhow. With all the garlic and parsley the smell and taste gets too strong, in my opinion, when it sits. So, it did work good for a salad in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I cut out the olive oil and put in some cayenne pepper...absolutely delicious, very filling meal and low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A very pretty salad, made it exactly as written and I loved the combination of flavors. Served in individual lettuce "boats". Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this super quick & easy recipe over & over again.Just love chickpeas!Instead of canned beans,I always boil the hard chickpeas till cooked as this taste a lot better and u can cook them in a big batch,and store in the fridge for future use.For this recipe,I used 2 cups of cooked beans and added extra lemon juice. I sometimes add a handful of fresh chopped mint and a 1/4 green bell peppers,diced just for variation.This salad is very filling and yes,it looks pretty & appetizing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplerose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
i added vinegar (same amount as lemon juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! I added chopped spinach as suggested by someone else. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States