Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is delicious and so healthy. I am always looking for ways to get more fiber in our diet. I did add more lemon as I like that more tart lemon flavor. Next time I make this I will add tuna and corn as some have suggested and make a main dish salad for dinner. I live in Texas so the suggestion for half cilantro is out right now. Hopefully I can add some of that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I added black beans to the recipe and doubled the ingredients. I brought it to a party and everyone loved it! Great alternative to salads requiring mayo and less fattening too! Thanks for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This definitely needs to be made the day before. I tried it a couple hours after I made it and thought this is bland, I served it next day and was pleasantly suprised. It definitely needs time to soak in the dressing. I served it to guests and got compliments on how good it was. I pretty much followed the recipe, just made a few additions, I threw in a medium sized cucumber, and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
A great little salad! We like chick peas so I knew we'd like this one. Next time I'll have to double it; this won't go far. Would like to add some corn, too, as other reviewers have made note of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a terrific salad. I added some kidney beans to the mix, was a nice contrast visually and texturally. I loved the taste of this salad. I did add some tuna to a small bowl of it, and had it for lunch. I can't wait to try it with some sweet corn kernels!! Thanks for the easy, delicious, and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I also followed Diane and Linda's advice and added tuna to this salad and let me tell you, it was absolutely delicious! My husband is not a fan of chickpeas but even he enjoyed it. I also added kalamata olives and he threw some garlic pickles in his salad. This would be nice for an outdoor BBQ because it doesn't have a mayonnaise base. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I'm a huge fan of the chickpea, but thought this salad lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Just delicious, with the perfect ratio of olive oil to lemon juice. And the lemon juice was refreshingly different from the vinegar traditionally used in dressings like this. No need to measure ingredients, just add to suit your tastes. This was a nice change from typical lettuce salads. And it was pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
A nice and quick recipe! I doubled the ingredients and used fresh cilantro instead of the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca M
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
We used plenty of fresh parsley and lemon juice in this recipe, and added a can of tuna and some sweet corn to this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States