Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
just made this...ooh i liked it but didn't have lemon juice so used lime (which i like better anyway) did the rest as the recipe stated......will be making this again...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very very good. I made this for a Church dinner yesterday and got great reviews on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Fabulous salad, great taste. I used two cloves of garlic that were a little bigger than normal & it turned out great. Next time I make it I'll let the salad sit in the fridge and marinate for an hour or two to really bring out the flavors! I give this one an A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I thought this seemed a bit boring when I made it as directed. I added some more garlic and lemon and a few shakes of smoked paprika and cayenne. I also added half of a roasted red pepper. I hope it tastes a bit more lively tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is delicious and so healthy. I am always looking for ways to get more fiber in our diet. I did add more lemon as I like that more tart lemon flavor. Next time I make this I will add tuna and corn as some have suggested and make a main dish salad for dinner. I live in Texas so the suggestion for half cilantro is out right now. Hopefully I can add some of that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I added black beans to the recipe and doubled the ingredients. I brought it to a party and everyone loved it! Great alternative to salads requiring mayo and less fattening too! Thanks for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom of  Two
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This definitely needs to be made the day before. I tried it a couple hours after I made it and thought this is bland, I served it next day and was pleasantly suprised. It definitely needs time to soak in the dressing. I served it to guests and got compliments on how good it was. I pretty much followed the recipe, just made a few additions, I threw in a medium sized cucumber, and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
A great little salad! We like chick peas so I knew we'd like this one. Next time I'll have to double it; this won't go far. Would like to add some corn, too, as other reviewers have made note of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This was a terrific salad. I added some kidney beans to the mix, was a nice contrast visually and texturally. I loved the taste of this salad. I did add some tuna to a small bowl of it, and had it for lunch. I can't wait to try it with some sweet corn kernels!! Thanks for the easy, delicious, and flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I also followed Diane and Linda's advice and added tuna to this salad and let me tell you, it was absolutely delicious! My husband is not a fan of chickpeas but even he enjoyed it. I also added kalamata olives and he threw some garlic pickles in his salad. This would be nice for an outdoor BBQ because it doesn't have a mayonnaise base. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States