Chickpea Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Only gave it four stars because I didn't stay true to the recipe. Doubled the amount of pasta (1 c is just not much) and kept the other amounts the same though did not use any salt. Kalamata olives were substituted for black which gave it the needed salt. Used probably only 4 oz. of feta and added the suggestion of other reviewers, adding chopped cucumber and a couple Tbsps of chopped mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is FABULOUS!! The only changes I made were using kalamata olives in stead of regular black olives, and slightly increased the amount of pasta. IT HAS A SUPER FLAVOR and we LOVE IT! You can taste all the ingredients without having an overpowering dressing flavor like some salads do. Will definitely be making this salad on a regular basis. It is better the next day, but it's still great on the same day. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
good, but a lot of onion taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was a nice, well balanced (healthy) yet light mac salad. The chickpeas added good protein to the dish. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent salad, but I would call it "Greek Macaroni Salad." I had a couple of changes - I added some fresh parsley and dried oregano. I also used only 1/4 olive oil and the salad was not in the least bit dry. I used kalamata olives because I prefer them to traditional black and think they go great with feta. This was well received and will be made at my house again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Absolutely delicious--made exactly as written. Have been looking for fiber-rich, meatless dishes. As others have mentioned, best when made with black kalamata olives. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Delicious! I used farfalle, shallot (I prefer the milder flavor), and half the dressing, and I added fresh oregano for even more of a Greek flavor. This was easy and quick, and definitely something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love to make this salad, I like to add a seeded cucumber cubed! Yummy! Its so fresh and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Perfect! I wouldn't do a thing to the flavouring (That's crazy, coming from me!). Feel free to add other veg, but this is a perfect recipe. HOWEVER, I hate macaroni pasta, so I went with fusili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Macaroon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I think this salad is a o k. The dressing was different then a vinegar based salad dressing I'm used to. I feel it needed some spices in the flavor department. I think that's what I felt it was lacking. I did use Roma tomatoes and scooped out the seeds, used red onions and I found feta crumbles that were seasoned with garlic and herbs. I made the recipe as written otherwise. But I will never ever use Walmarts brand of garbanzo beans ever again. Not sure what the cannery was thinking when they put them babies in the can, but they were hard as bricks. For warning everyone on that note. It was the 4th can I had in stock in my pantry that was that way...I'll buy Allen's brand from now on, I get my self to save a few cents a can for that. Won't be doing that again. But all in all the recipe just lacked some flavor. I wanted it to sing "Amen" because I love every ingredient used. It just didn't win me over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States