Chickpea Falafel Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Left out the curry, due to personal preference. Served with Tzatziki Sauce (Yogurt and Cucumber Dip), also from this site. Makes a great sammie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am a very experienced cook, but these just didn't work for me. They were extremely crumbly. I am still looking for a good falafel recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These were delicious and very satisfying! Our blended beans had a bit more liquid so we added more bread crumbs to help dry up the mix. Used Garam Masala instead of straight up curry powder which was fantastic. Next time I'd add even more bread crumbs as they stayed quite soft in the middle. We doubled the recipe to get 8 patties and wound up with around 14 'burger' sized patties - but we're happy for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Welland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe was a pleasant surprise. I added an extra egg and half cup whole wheat flour and I kept the patties small and they held together. What a great way to get gabanzo beans into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These are so yummy. I made them with 2 cups dried chickepeas (soaked over night, boiled for 1.5 hours) and discarded all cooking water. I added a little coriander seed (ground) and some chili pepper (not much). I increased the amount of mushrooms, onion and breadcrumbs to get a cookie dough consistency.I used two whole eggs as I couldn't be bothered separating the yolk from the whites. Unless you are watching your cholesterol, there is no need to separate out the eggs. Instead of frying, I brushed the patties with a little olive oil and broiled for a few minutes until browned. They turned out nice a crispy without too much oil. We will definitely have these over and over again since my 15 month old son LOVES these. They are great with tzatziki and/or in a pita with lots of veggies (tomato, lettuce, olives...etc). I am sure they'd be good as 'veggie burgers' too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Awesome! Instead of keeping the juice in the chickpeas, I juiced a lemon and added some lemon rind, they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These turned out too mushy, even after I doubled the amount of bread crumbs. Otherwise flavorful and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good. I left out the mushrooms because I did not have any at the house. I read all the comments about leaving out the curry powder. I would suggest a red curry powder instead of yellow. Very good although a little crumbly. I grilled them after frying in the skillet on the grill. This would be easier if they held together better. After looking at some other recipes a bit of flower might help with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
These burgers are absolutely amazing, but only if you serve them with MAYO. Without mayo they are still good but with mayo they are great. Cheese is also good but not as necessary. Also, you need more bread crumbs than the recipe suggests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
yummy! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States