Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Delicious - I'd have a couple of suggestions for some other reviewers. If this tastes bland or you feel it needs 4x the spices, you probably are using jarred spices that have been sitting in your cabinet since the Truman administration. I think by and large crushing cinnamon sticks is a risky proposition - most cinnamon sticks in the US are for dipping in punch or decoration for some coffee drink - they are usually just awful. Ground coinnamon isn't perfect but a teaspoon will more than do. I have been cooking from scratch for 20 years and have NEVER seen a fresh chickpea at any market. I assume that this reviewer meant canned as opposed to dry...I hope. I never add the canned liquid from beans, it has some starch, but a quick blend with the immersion blender or mashing some of the garbanzo's against the side of the pan with a fork will thicken it up nicely and you don't risk the tinny flavour of the canned liquid....obviously add as much or as little liquid as you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
593 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Of the new recipes I try, my husband and I agree that I should repeat some of them, but with A. Rahman's Chickpea Curry, we both wanted it again the next day! I scaled the recipe (for which I'm now kicking myself) to 4, used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon instead of crushing the stick, omitted the salt, added 2 cups of diced left over turkey, and 1/2 cup of vegetable broth (from a cube) to add extra sauce and replace the omitted salt. Served it over jasmine rice and called it a day. This (with or without my turkey addition) will become a regular menu offering in our house. Someone else wrote that it will satisfy your craving for curry- and they are totally right. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I've already reviewed this recipe, but it's become such a favourite of mine that I had to review it again. The last time I made it I added a large can of diced tomatoes (drained) and doubled the spices- it was wonderful!! Plus, once you've got all the spices, it's the easiest thing to make! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Pretty good, and so easy. I usually let it simmer for forty minutes to let the flavors blend, and served it over a bit of rice. For reference, 2/3rds a teaspoon of ground cinnamon is about equivalent to one 2-inch cinnamon stick. Also, don't use the enormously large onions you find in some supermarkets -- use normal medium-sized onions (or else you'll have almost as much onion as chickpeas!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was very quick and so easy to make, and tasted very authentic. I added kale to the curry so it wouldn't have just chickpeas in it. Spinach would taste really great in this dish, too! This tasted even better the next day, and would be great eaten with Indian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Good basic recipe for chickpeas or "cholay." You can also top with chopped tomatoes, onions, and green chiles, or diced boiled potatoes. For more flavor, try adding a teaspoon of tamarind pulp or paste and/or a teaspoon of an Indian spice mix called "chaat masala" just before finishing. To thicken the sauce, try potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Wonderful side dish for an Indian-themed dinner! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and drained the chickpeas while adding a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I also used ground cinnamon and ground cloves. Be sure to stir in the cilantro just before serving and to save some to sprinkle on top. The cayenne pepper made it spicy hot but not too much so- be adventurous and leave it in. Indian food has to have a nice bite to it! Serve some raita on the side to cool the palate if needed. Thanks for one of the best ways to cooking chickpeas I've experienced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
I am a big indian food lover, I have tried so many dishes, and it seems almost impossible for me to find an indian dish that I do not like, until now. I thought that this dish was very poor, I threw it all out while it was still hot. Way too much cilantro for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This came out quite well. I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the ginger, cumin, coriander, and turmeric. I also threw in a little curry powder I had. I also added a diced baked potato with the chick peas. It ended up being a bit dry, but adding some water worked just fine. It also ended up being a tad bit spicy with just the rice but combining with some plain yogurt from the supermarket works really well. Also, for reference: 2 tsp fresh ginger root = 1 tsp ground ginger; 6 whole cloves = 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1 inch cinnamon stick = 1 tsp ground cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
My whole family is hooked on this recipe! Wonderful and easy to make. I have also substituted and added other ingredients such as white beans, carrots, cauliflower and peas. The base is delicious and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States