Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I have brand new spices and this recipe didn't turn out well at all. I just wasted two cans of garbanzo beans. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was pretty good, but it could just be because I'm really hungry? I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon in place of the cinnamon sticks. I didn't find this to be bland like others did, so like another reviewer suggested, maybe your spices are just really old. The cayenne added a nice kick. I used 1 small onion, 2 would be too many. I found that even though I cooked this a little longer than the recipe indicated, I still had crunchy bits. I think I'll throw in the ginger with the onion to make sure it gets cooked and then I'll let the whole thing simmer covered for 20 minutes or so to soften it. Also, I liked another reviewer's suggestion to mash up some of the beans to add thickness. Overall, good and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
too spicy, not sure what people were talking about when they said there isn't any spice... kinda boring as well. And too much cilantro for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This came out quite well. I added a can of diced tomatoes and doubled the ginger, cumin, coriander, and turmeric. I also threw in a little curry powder I had. I also added a diced baked potato with the chick peas. It ended up being a bit dry, but adding some water worked just fine. It also ended up being a tad bit spicy with just the rice but combining with some plain yogurt from the supermarket works really well. Also, for reference: 2 tsp fresh ginger root = 1 tsp ground ginger; 6 whole cloves = 1/2 tsp ground clove, 1 inch cinnamon stick = 1 tsp ground cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessajbaca
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This came out delicious, but I made substantial changes so I'm giving it 4 stars. I used garlic oil, 1 red onion and three tablespoons of minced garlic. I used dried ginger, dried cinnamon, turmeric and dried cumin - and I doubled the spices. Sauteed together for about 5 mins, then added 1 can of garbanzo beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes, both in their juices. I added a small can of coconut milk (for creaminess), a dash of fish sauce, some vegetable broth and vegetable bouillon, and fresh chopped cilantro and simmered for 30 mins. Oh yes, and I added a dollop of red curry paste I had left over, as I had no garam masala. It is an excellent base for many different types of curries. I was very pleased. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Added extra can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed them, and added vegetable broth for moisture. Yum!!!! A new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hinman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
pretty good. im not sure how many times i will use those spices again tho. my family doesn't eat curry too much and most of those spice are used for curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I would rate this as good. Had very good flavor! I didn't crush the cinnamon, but just broke up and took out the pieces when we ate it. Were we suppose to eat the cinnamon sticks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritakay8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Easy, tasty, and will make again. Followed the advice of others and used ground cinnamon. I omitted the ground coriander salt as I did not have it, and decreased the amount of cayenne pepper. Next time I probably will add spinach. Planned to take some for lunch, however my family ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I was excited to try this recipe as I love chickpeas and all curry dishes. Unfortunately, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out way too spicy! I would suggest only used 1/3 or less of a teaspoon of cayenne and then taste it before adding more. I wanted to throw the batch out after having one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applegrace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States