Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Awesome recipe. Thanks for the suggestion to add a can of diced tomatoes. Would also recommend doubling the spices. Enjoy you won't be disappoined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is such an easy, cheap and fast recipe. We ate it with rice and salad, and it was delicious! I also like to make extra, keep in refrigerator, and then serve in a tortilla as a wrap. Wonderful! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have loved this recipe for years... This version, using individual spices, is the best. I rely on a jarred curry powder like McCormick's - but it is still delicious. The only thing I would add is a diced green bell pepper; I fry it up with the garlic and curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Awesome dish! It's a quick supper and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The recipe was good as a base, but was fabulous with a few tweaks. I added a can of coconut milk, a handful of raisins, 2 tsp tamarind pulp, a couple handfuls of spinach, about 1 cup of diced tomatoes, and didn't have cilantro so I omitted that. It was perfect! One of my favourite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Quick, healthy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
decent i guess. a dry curry- not a liquid chickpea curry like i have had at restaurants. be aware it's quite spicy. i added only 1/4 tsp cayenne. used 1 tsp ground cinn & 1/4 tsp ground cloves. added a can of diced tomatoes as suggested by other reviewers. it was definitely edible, but not as good as I had hoped. this recipe has gotten such rave reviews. i was disappointed. this is a good base recipe but not quite what i was looking for i guess.. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out really well. I modified a few things based on the suggestions from the reviews such as adding tomatoes, adding some curry powder, and using half the cayenne (it was still spicy, but much more tolerable for my taste). I let it simmer for about 20 minutes so the chickpeas would be really tender and the liquid could reduce and thicken a bit and then I thickened it a little bit further using a cornstarch slurry so the sauce wouldn't be so watery. As a few others suggested, I prepared the chickpeas tonight to be served tomorrow. If it's yummy today, it will be awesome tomorrow. If you like exotic spices and flavors, then you should definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States