Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is so simple and outstanding. I added two roma tomatoes from our garden chopped up. Used three cans of chickpeas. Doubled all the spices except the cayenne (1/4tspn). I've made it three days in a row! It's that good. Would be great with spinach, cooked potatoes or paneer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Plain without the curry powder. So use a dash of it. Cut down the cinnamon & cloves (not a fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This dish was very tasty and pretty easy, even for someone like me who had never made curry before. However, I didn't get it perfect the first time. I didn't taste any clove flavor, except when I accidentally bit into one. (I'll use ground cloves next time.) I thought the cilantro was a little too strong, although nobody else seemed to mind. And I left out the chickpea "juice" per a suggestion here, but that made it too dry and not saucy enough, so I had to add water. Other substitutions worked quite well: instead of 1 tsp of cayenne, I used 1/2 tsp of chili paste, which was enough heat for me, but a fire-breathing pepper fiend might want a full teaspoon. I substituted 1 & 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon for the cinnamon sticks. I also added a bunch of ground black pepper to enhance the flavor, a modification I strongly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Just finished making this! I didn't know one of my favorite foods would be so easy to make! I found it a bit too spicy for my taste, but I just mixed in some sour cream and was fine. I will be mixing all the spices together and placing in a small spice jar for ease of making next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Definitely need to double the spices in this dish. I used powdered ginger instead of fresh and cardamom as well, cut the cayenne pepper way down and added green peppers and fresh mushrooms. Made this one a ton of times; it's quick, it's easy, it's versatile, and it's nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I only had a bite of this, was instantly hooked, and made sure to have my friend send me the recipe. I will definitely be passing this one along to my brother too since he doesn't like to eat any meats other than seafood and is crazy about Indian spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSENIKKI2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Found this recipe easy to make... It does need a bit of chilli powder. A more realistic number of servings is about 6. My grad school room mates enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Whoa. This recipe sounded great to me, but I was a little worried about the entire teaspoon of cayenne I was told to put in. I was going to just cut it to half, but after reading through the other reviews and essentially feeling like I was being called a chicken if I didn't put all the spice in, I decided to show them what's what. Ouch. Maybe it's that my cayenne came fresh right from the organics department, so it had some zing to it, but I ended up adding an extra 15oz of garbanzos to try and soak up the spice. No luck. I'm still hurtin'. So if you've got quality ingredients, and a fainter heart than a Bengal Tiger, you might want to ease off the cayenne just a tad. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I guess its not right to rate this recipe, because I made a few changes, but I used it as a base. I didn't have cloves or cilantro, but I added some curry powder, and potatoes, zucchini, and what really made it for me, was the addition of some fresh squeezed lime juice. It was delicious. And because I was sharing with my 9 month old baby girl I left out the cayenne. We both LOVED it. next time i will add cauliflower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
awesome!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States