Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a very tasty base recipe for a chickpea curry. I wish I would have read these reviews first so that I would have omited the crushed cinnamon sticks. Im not a big cook but either I didnt crush them enough or that was just a bad suggestion. I keep picking tough pieces of the cinnamon out of it as I eat it. Besides that this is super yummy! I will try it again and next time will not be using the cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was very tasty and super easy. I didn't have the coriander, so I skipped that. Substituted ground cloves and cinnamon with no issue. I cut down the cayenne a bit, and it was still quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
As much as we like spicy food, one teaspoon of cayenne pepper was too much for this recipe. It overpowered the other spices. I would make it again by using 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy and good. I soaked 2 c. dried chickpeas with water to cover for 5 hours, drained them, then pressure cooked them with 4 more cups of water for 45 minutes. I will reduce the cayenne next time for my grandbabies and let my husband add Tabasco to his liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I really love this recipe. I leave out the cilantro and add all the other spices powdered. Today I used allspice instead of coriander, and accidently used a sweet onion. It was really good. With a food processor to chop the onion, and canned chickpeas, it's easier than pasta! (I also serve over rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is just excellent, my family and I love it. I do leave out the cayenne pepper, as I’m not a big fan of spicy food. One piece of advice: In the unlikely event that you have leftovers, remove the cinnamon sticks before refrigerating, as they will completely overpower every other flavor by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKACSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was awesome! I made it pretty much as is... I omitted the ground coriander and cilantro, as I don't like the taste. Also, I used about 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon as I didn't have a stick. With the chickpeas, you can also drain them and add the liquid as needed to control your consistency. It has some kick with the cayenne pepper and my husband, who was reluctant, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very good and simple to make but SPICY! Next time I will halve the cayenne. It's deceiving though... it doesn't smell spicy while cooking. My youngest doesn't like spicy food but ate it well by adding a spoonful of sour cream. I mixed my leftovers well with rice and that helped the next day (either didn't have enough rice with it the night before or didn't mix it well enough). Loved the flavor and ease of preparation. Will probably make it again since I have enough of bulk purchased seasoning left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Sooo good. Recommendations: You can omit the coriander (its basically cilantro, assuming you DO have cilantro). I also recommend adding a can of diced tomatoes (with juice) rather than the garbanzo bean can water. Also, eat over rice (even a little is worth it). Instead of using cayenne pepper, a few dashes of hot sauce works really well without making it too spicy. Also lime juice adds a nice kick. I'll be making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I cooked up chickpeas and mung beans to use as the beans, then I used 1/4 tsp. ground cloves and 1 tsp. ground cinnamon instead of the whole spices, and cut the amount of cayenne pepper down. After all that, I found that I didn't have cilantro! But, the taste was OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States