Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Nice and easy to make. Definitely a little hot/spicy, but a solid meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This recipe is great. The spices for the curry flavor can be used on a variety of other foods and vegetables as well. Generally speaking, I only use about half of the turmeric. Otherwise, it has too much of that chalky taste. Also, feel free to add other vegetables when you add the chickpeas. Chopped fresh green beans works well. You might want to add 1/4 cup chicken broth to give it more liquid if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I’m new to cooking with curry. This is my 4th or 5th recipe. All the others called for curry powder as opposed to adding all the ingredients separately like this one. What a difference!! This had way more flavor. This is my favorite curry recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I am definitely going to make it again, but this time, I'm going to rehydrate garbanzo beans, instead of using canned. Somehow, this didn't taste like much and had to add more spice. I'm not counting this recipe out, but if I find it didn't taste any better with fresh chickpeas, I'm done with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Good, but I thought there were too many different spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
It turned out beautiful looking with the perfect liquid consistency. But, the red pepper was completely overpowering. I used some sour cream to tone down the heat and ate it with Naan bread. I also agree that there is something missing. I will probably try it again using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thank you! Started from dried and made a delicious Wednesday evening dinner. We will eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very nice! I added a half diced tomato to it and garnished with cilantro. Just like my ma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was my first go at making an Indian dish and I was not disappointed. As per other reviews, I drained the canned chickpeas and subbed in a can of diced tomatoes, and I threw in a couple handfuls of baby spinach. I also used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon as opposed to crushing sticks. Next time I may use ground cloves instead of whole. I picked out all but one before I served it (I found the last one in my bowl halfway through eating it). Since other reviewers commented on the level of spiciness, I cut the cayenne pepper in half just to be safe. I asked my husband afterwards what he thought and he said that next time I should use the full amount. We both enjoy spicy food, so it may not be for everyone. I served the curry over basmati rice (I also found that recipe on this site) and it was delicious! My husband is a picky eater and he really enjoyed it, and he even got to the leftovers before I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious!! Added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of sour cream as added too much cayenne and wow! It is even more to my taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States