Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I have loved this recipe for years... This version, using individual spices, is the best. I rely on a jarred curry powder like McCormick's - but it is still delicious. The only thing I would add is a diced green bell pepper; I fry it up with the garlic and curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Awesome dish! It's a quick supper and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
The recipe was good as a base, but was fabulous with a few tweaks. I added a can of coconut milk, a handful of raisins, 2 tsp tamarind pulp, a couple handfuls of spinach, about 1 cup of diced tomatoes, and didn't have cilantro so I omitted that. It was perfect! One of my favourite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Quick, healthy and tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassidytonkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
decent i guess. a dry curry- not a liquid chickpea curry like i have had at restaurants. be aware it's quite spicy. i added only 1/4 tsp cayenne. used 1 tsp ground cinn & 1/4 tsp ground cloves. added a can of diced tomatoes as suggested by other reviewers. it was definitely edible, but not as good as I had hoped. this recipe has gotten such rave reviews. i was disappointed. this is a good base recipe but not quite what i was looking for i guess.. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This came out really well. I modified a few things based on the suggestions from the reviews such as adding tomatoes, adding some curry powder, and using half the cayenne (it was still spicy, but much more tolerable for my taste). I let it simmer for about 20 minutes so the chickpeas would be really tender and the liquid could reduce and thicken a bit and then I thickened it a little bit further using a cornstarch slurry so the sauce wouldn't be so watery. As a few others suggested, I prepared the chickpeas tonight to be served tomorrow. If it's yummy today, it will be awesome tomorrow. If you like exotic spices and flavors, then you should definitely give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I make this close to once a week and it's easily my favorite dinner. I use 1 tsp ground cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of ground cloves as other reviewers had mentioned. I usually leave out the cayenne for my 4 year old and will add it at the end on my plate only. Also add a can of diced tomatoes. I keep some ginger in my freezer just for this recipe. It's pretty cheap and keeps forever in the freezer. Thanks to Alton Brown for that tip. This is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious. I doubled this recipe, maybe added a little extra cilantro, and added ground cinnamon and cloves instead of whole (1 tsp of each). It turned out the perfect spice level for people who like spice. Beautiful over rice. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States