Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A huge hit with us! My husband and I loved it. The only change I made was I substituted whole cloves and cinnamon with their ground counterparts. I also added 8 oz of tomato sauce just to give it another layer. I might add potatoes next time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
simple but morish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My husband and I really liked this dish. We have a few suggestions: grind all your spices in a coffee bean grinder before adding them. This way you're not having to pick through pieces of cinnamon or biting into a whole clove. Also, I would cut the cayenne by 2/3 - our dish was so spicy! Skip the fresh cilantro, I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is a great curry. I added an extra teaspoon of cayenne pepper since we love spicy food. I also added 2t of Greek double yoghurt. Some ground channa thickens the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great easy recipe! I added stewed tomatoes to my mix as I felt it really was missing that something extra. I also ground my cloves instead of putting them in whole and used ground cinnamon instead of the sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very flavorful l, however I would ex the whole cloves and use ground cloves, as they can be unpleasant to bite into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was very tasty! I too added fresh tomatoes, drained the chickpeas, and just added a bit of water. I may use a little less cinnamon next time as it was slightly overpowering (for half the yield I used 0.5 tsp, as recommended by another reviewer). This will probably be even better tomorrow! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I added extra spices and it didn't turn out right. I added spinach to add some greens. Will try again with vegetable stock and more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I was looking for something simple, tasty, cheap, and would last me a good amount of time (I'm a left over person). I read way too many reviews but bunched together what i thought were the best and created something fantastic. I doubled the coriander and cumin and used a little less than 2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of sticks. I also added 1 tsp chaat masala and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (with sauce) with the garbanzo beans. I threw in potatoe flakes at the end to thicken the sauce. Put it on top of my curry rice recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Nice and easy to make. Definitely a little hot/spicy, but a solid meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States