Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is a a easy, quick recipe but I found it to be on the bland side. I'm used to Indian food so maybe I just need more spices in my food - that is a very individual aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This made my house smell AMAZING. Modifications: drained the chickpeas, doubled the spices (used 2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of sticks) except the cayenne pepper, which I reduced to 1/2 tsp, and reduced the cilantro to ~1/2 cup. Additions: 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, a handful each of kale, frozen peas, and cauliflower, and a diced boiled potato (added in the last few minutes). I simmered everything together for about 40 minutes and periodically added splashes of chicken broth to prevent things from getting too dry. I used a wide saucepan (kind of like a half-stockpot); a frying pan would not be tall enough to contain all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Was ok...not much of a unique Indian spice taste. Chickpeas from pressure cooker will be better than from the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this recipe with a few differences due to what I had on hand. I soaked a pound of dried chickpeas in water overnight, then cooked in water on low in the crockpot the next day while at work. I drained most of the water off them, then followed the recipe except I didn't have stick cinnamon or whole cloves. I used the following conversions: 1 tsp ground cinnamon for each stick 1/2 tsp ground cloves = 6 whole Given that I used a whole pound of chickpeas, I doubled all spices. I did omit the cayenne and used a slight sprinkling of some ground red pepper (which may be the same a cayenne, but it's old so not as hot lol) I also added one can of petite diced tomatoes in juice. This is one of the most amazing recipes I've ever used. The smell and taste is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Nesbit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but did make a couple of changes. I used white kidney beans when I realized I didn't have any chickpeas. I found it a bit too spicy for the kids so I added half a can of coconut milk and a cup of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My husband first made this a few months back and now we have it almost once a week! It's super easy once you have all the spices on hand. I do add a can of undrained tomatoes to make it saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
So good. We love Indian food. This is so easy and not complicated. Good for a quickie dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A huge hit with us! My husband and I loved it. The only change I made was I substituted whole cloves and cinnamon with their ground counterparts. I also added 8 oz of tomato sauce just to give it another layer. I might add potatoes next time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
simple but morish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My husband and I really liked this dish. We have a few suggestions: grind all your spices in a coffee bean grinder before adding them. This way you're not having to pick through pieces of cinnamon or biting into a whole clove. Also, I would cut the cayenne by 2/3 - our dish was so spicy! Skip the fresh cilantro, I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Texas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States