Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BIBI LIT
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Gave this recipe a try last night, and I am very pleased. I made it for my mother. I drained most of the canned chick peas liquid. From both cans total, I'd say that I only used about 1 cup of liquid. I did this to cut back on sodium. I also used 1- 1 1/2 tablespoons of curry instead of turmeric. I used one dash of cayenne pepper. And I also added fresh cherry tomatoes into this dish. And I didn't use an coriander or salt. Recipe was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIBI LIT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was great! I used canned chick peas and included the water from the can in the recipe. I may use veggie or chicken broth next time. Used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon as I did not have the sticks. Cut the cloves down to 4 as I don't really like them and cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon because I'm a wimp. I didn't use quite as much cilantro and used dried as that was all I had on hand. The flavor that resulted was wonderful meld of a sweet cinnamon start with a peppery bite at the end. My husband, who specifically hates chick peas, was savoring these one by one. I served it with the Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala and chipotle lime rice here on the site. Possibly the best dinner that I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I make Indian food a lot and I have been looking for a simpler chickpea recipe than the one I have been using for years. The ratings and reviews seemed to suggest this was the one. I was a bit disappointed. It was lacking in a some flavor. When reading over the recipe, I was surprised at the lack of tomatoes, and also the large amount of turmeric (cilantro as well, which I love but as many do not, I have been in the habit of just putting some in my bowl instead of the whole dish). Still, I thought I would make it as the recipe states first to try it. I was surprised to see that the onions were only to be briefly cooked before tossing in the chickpeas and liquid. This leaves the onions crunchy and undercooked. To those attempting this recipe, cook the onions more thoroughly before adding any liquid. These kinds of recipes should also be allowed to simmer for a while (around 30 min) to let the flavors permeate everything. If you are using 2 onions, make sure they are on the smaller side. Mine were large so I just used 1 1/2 and there were still probably more onions than chickpeas. Use half the turmeric or less. As the end result was a bit lackluster, I had to add a few things: a can of tomatoes which I pureed, extra ginger and garlic, garam masala, and ground cinnamon. I also mashed some of the chickpeas with a fork to thicken the sauce. Another thing is I used dried chickpeas which I cooked earlier. Along with some of the liquid, I put in some chicken bullion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is a a easy, quick recipe but I found it to be on the bland side. I'm used to Indian food so maybe I just need more spices in my food - that is a very individual aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This made my house smell AMAZING. Modifications: drained the chickpeas, doubled the spices (used 2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of sticks) except the cayenne pepper, which I reduced to 1/2 tsp, and reduced the cilantro to ~1/2 cup. Additions: 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, a handful each of kale, frozen peas, and cauliflower, and a diced boiled potato (added in the last few minutes). I simmered everything together for about 40 minutes and periodically added splashes of chicken broth to prevent things from getting too dry. I used a wide saucepan (kind of like a half-stockpot); a frying pan would not be tall enough to contain all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Was ok...not much of a unique Indian spice taste. Chickpeas from pressure cooker will be better than from the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this recipe with a few differences due to what I had on hand. I soaked a pound of dried chickpeas in water overnight, then cooked in water on low in the crockpot the next day while at work. I drained most of the water off them, then followed the recipe except I didn't have stick cinnamon or whole cloves. I used the following conversions: 1 tsp ground cinnamon for each stick 1/2 tsp ground cloves = 6 whole Given that I used a whole pound of chickpeas, I doubled all spices. I did omit the cayenne and used a slight sprinkling of some ground red pepper (which may be the same a cayenne, but it's old so not as hot lol) I also added one can of petite diced tomatoes in juice. This is one of the most amazing recipes I've ever used. The smell and taste is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Nesbit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUDLESS
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I liked this recipe, but did make a couple of changes. I used white kidney beans when I realized I didn't have any chickpeas. I found it a bit too spicy for the kids so I added half a can of coconut milk and a cup of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My husband first made this a few months back and now we have it almost once a week! It's super easy once you have all the spices on hand. I do add a can of undrained tomatoes to make it saucier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States