Chickpea and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I liked this stuff, but it's not good for a big crowd. I don't think too many people like garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
I was so pleased with this quick find -- very simple and clean kind of recipe. I threw in 1/4 c star pasta to grab my kids' attention. With fresh parmegan or romano, it would be a lovely first course. I will keep this one close by to use again -- delicious. Thanks, Lizzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
This recipe was quick and easy to make. I love chickpea's, but it just didn't quite fit in this tomato soup. Boyfriend didn't even touch it. I like to give recipes another try. I may try again in a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I was looking for a low-fat, quick and tasty soup and this fit the bill. I only used 1 t of olive oil and substituted 2 cans of chicken broth for the bullion. I think the fresh rosemary is what really makes this soup. 5 stars for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Bismillahir Rahman ir Rahim This was pretty good. I reduced the water to half and served over rice. Next time I would throw in some cumin, but this definitely was super-quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I have to say three stars because although I used the basic recipe, I also added my own touches...I like to use less water, maybe 1 1/2 to 2 cups, I also added 28oz can crushed tomatoes instead of the diced, more garlic of course, and this goes really well with couscous, and chicken breast pieces fried separately in garlic...that way you can also make the meat eaters happy, and bump this up to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
For me, this recipe was missing something, but my husband enjoyed it. I even tried adding some cumin that one of the reviewers mentioned and added couscous that another reviewer suggested, but it still didn't do it for me. It was just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyDimpledSmile
Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I love it. I replaced the bullion cube with 2 tbs of Minors Vegetarian Consonmme Prep (chicken style) from soupbase.com. Great flavour and enjoiable hot or cold. I will add another can of tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I tried using fresh tomatoes and less water. I would defintely try the canned tomatoes next time because it tasted like tomatoe flavored water with garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Like another reviewer stated - this recipe is a base recipe - but it does have alot of potential. I too added alot more garlic, a can of corn, a can of kidney beans, a can of tomato paste and more liquid. I used 2 tsp. cuin and 1 tsp. of corriander to give it some life and i sprinkled fresh cilanto on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States