Chickpea and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Ad written, this soup is edible but BORING!!! But, it is a FABULOUS base recipe... so much potential in this soup! I like to use chicken stock (or chicken broth) instead of water, add shredded/roasted chicken or even kielbasa, add different beans, some more seasonings (especially garlic.) And, I do cook this in the crock on low (stirring occasionally) for at least 6-8 hrs to get a full blending of flavors. Worth 'playing' with this recipe to get the flavors you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was really surprised at how good this very basic and quick recipe is. The only changes I made were to use 2 cloves of garlic, cut back to 2 cups of water, blended the entire pot, and then added a bit of milk at the end. A nice thick mild tomato soup! My 3-yr old ate 3 bowls and that is proof enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Love this soup. I changed it a little. I pureed the tomatoes and chick peas. Instead of rosemary, I added a little ground cloves and ground red pepper. I added flax seed meal to the cup of soup just before eating to make it thicker (and to add fiber).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very bland. I had to use 3 bouillon cubes instead of 3 to give it any flavor. Otherwise it was just like beans and tomatoes floating around in water. I will make it again, but with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Had no money to go shopping so I used what I had. Added onion, canned chicken, pasta, corn, canned sauce, cumin and used dried Rosemary instead of fresh. Oh yeah, used beef instead of chicken bouillon. It's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So it is the new year and I gained too much weight over the holidays. Found this healthy, low cal soup and decided to give it a try. I loved it! Great taste for something so easy. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. Also threw in a little orzo. Even with the orzo, it was still very low cal. A great start to a new year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I subbed fresh dill for the rosemary. This was quite good. I also simmered for quite awhile to soften everything up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The soup was great but i decided to tweek it a little. I first sauted the oil, garlic, tomatoes,and chickpeas in a non-stick frying pan for 20 minutes to reduce the juices from the tomatoes. I then placed the tomatoes and chickpeas in the sauce pot and added the remaining ingredients. Finnally I added a little shredded roast chicken and i was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Definitely a base soup. I made it for myself, and then made it for a party. I added kidney beans, white beans, brown sugar (the tomatoes were a little bitter to me), and vegetarian stock instead of the water. I left the party with an empty pot. I suggest making the soup your own, its one of those kitchen sink recipes where you can add what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This soup taste great but I like a heartier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States